We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

A lot of the toiletries had been opened and used so I would not use them. (Things for the coffee, the shampoo and conditioner). But the rooms were nice. The pool was warn and it had a decent breakfast. I went and sat in the hot tub and once I got in there were dead bugs and black stuff. I was really grossed out, there was no sign to keep out and there should have been.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our lakeview, balcony room had 2 queen beds plus a sofa bed. It was very large, nicely furnished with probably the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. Of course the view was perfect with a very big sandy beach below our balcony. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. It was a very nice place to stay, but I didn't realize when I booked it that there were no elevators to our room. It wouldn't have been an issue were it not for my older mother who has a hard time climbing stairs. Not all areas are without elevators, but it looks as though most of the balcony rooms have only stair access. This is just something to keep in mind, as it may be an issue for some people. But all in all it was a great hotel, and I believe anyone who isn't overly negative or picky will be very happy staying there.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have elevator access. Keep this in mind if you're travelling with people who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The check-in process was very long. The lobby had too much stuff sitting around. Parking was tight. Our room had too much furniture for the room. Cleanliness could have been better. Furniture and tv sets were wiped with some kind of stuff that left a film everywhere. The bathroom needed a much better cleaning. There was excrement on the side of the bathroom wastebasket and it hadn't been cleaned. The carpet really needed cleaning. It was very noisy and hard to sleep. On the good side, the staff was nice, there was a nice separate pool building, the breakfast was good, the bedding was clean and the mattresses were good. The value was excellent, but we might have to weigh our options before we return. We go to the are a couple times a year and this was our first time at this property.

Room Tip: Facing Lake Huron might be a nice choice on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loonqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Fantastic site. great management. clean rooms. Beachfront. Best breakfast I've been to in a motel. Good price for what you receive. David, the manager, is very polite, knowledgeable and great to talk to. All of the staff are friendly, and will meet your every need.

Room Tip: All rooms good. Beachfront and two bedroom rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room was clean, but dated and shabby. Mattresses need to be replaced and the whole room could have used some new paint/wallpaper and updated furniture. The Wi-Fi never worked in our room despite calling the front desk for some help troubleshooting it. They instructed us to "keep our door open" and then it work!!! I didn't give it a 'poor' rating because if there was a cheap rate I would stay there again, but I would never stay here when there prices are high during peak season...it just wouldn't be worth it.

Room Tip: Not even worth staying here unless you are in a lakeview room enjoying the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The room had some issues like: the maids had unplugged the lights behind table, the safe lock on the door did not work (although I was advised to gently pull on the handle then I could lock the door) the TV stopped working but this was resolved by pulling out a huge piece of furniture and pushing the plug back in.

The manager was very helpful and corrected everything, immediately, as it was reported.

The pool was under repair (the main reason for booking this particular hotel) but we were directed to the hotel a few places down the road and found, that pool, to be great fun as it had 3 pools with: "lazy river", hot tub and slides! This location also offered: towels, showers and changing rooms. It turned out to be a wonderful time for us.

Room Tip: The "free" breakfast was very disappointing. Almost all the ingredients had soy and other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbeeman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at if your visiting Mackinaw City i highly Recommend this one the staff is very helpful and nice, the breakfast was great with many item to choose from. great work Clarion!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 40 in Mackinaw City
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront
#20 of 40 in Mackinaw City
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Beachfront

Address: 905 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £63 - £510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Mackinaw City
Clarion Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing