We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual visit to the Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City
1 review
“Annual visit to the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We've stay at this Ramada location in the past. The free breakfast is terrible. It tastes extremely cheap. The rooms were clean and adequate. We ended up leaving a day early and the hotel wouldn not refund the last day. They had multmultiple empty rooms. I wasn't happy with this but what do you do? Lesson learned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Trina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    81
    94
    72
    57
See reviews for
155
140
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked a room by cell phone before seeing the property. This was a big, big mistake. When we arrived, there were maybe two cars in the parking lot. This seemed odd, because most of the other hotels had many cars in their lots. We then checked in at the registration desk, even though we were having second thoughts at this point. We were given our keys and advised that we would not be able to have the included breakfast because their cook wasn't planning to come to work the next day. However, we were told we could walk across the road to the Comfort Inn and have breakfast there. This was very alarming to us but we went with the flow and moved on to our room. On the way, we looked in the room where breakfast was supposed to be served and found it to be tiny, with just a few chairs and a bunch of boxes stacked around. How they could get away with advertising a 25' long buffet is perplexing to me.

Once we arrived at the rear doors of the property to get to our room, we were greeted by thousands of midge flies. Though we knew the flies were not unique to this hotel (this time of year), we did not expect to see piles of them swarming on an old food container just outside the entrance door. We also didn't expect to see them swarming inside the hallway, elevator and our room. Besides the bugs, the room otherwise appeared clean, but very well worn. The furniture was really old and the beds had a cardboard feel and sound when you sat on them. At this point, my wife turned to me and simply said Oh, H#LL NO! (and she is a pretty easy going lady).

Here is where things got even more interesting. We went back to the registration desk and said we wanted to cancel our reservation and wanted our credit card charge voided. We were told NO!. However, the receptionist said we could stay at the adjacent hotel (across a shared parking lot) and she would transfer the payment to them. We said we would give it a try. This was another big mistake!. My wife went over to this sister hotel and demanded to see the room before we agreed to the proposed arrangement. The hotel manager escorted her to the room, opened the door and advised "well, I can't give you this room" because a piece of trim board was hanging off the wall. My wife said forget it and returned to the "Ramada" in another attempt to get our money back. Again, she was told no. The receptionist this time gave her a map of the area and circled four other hotel we could try, to which she would transfer our registration payment. During all of this, I called Ramada Inn customer service from my car. A reached a representative who advised the hotel was "NOT ONE OF [THEIR'S]". However, the agent offered to call the establishment and see if she could help us get our money back. The agent had no luck either, reportedly being advised by the "Ramada" that the Mackinaw City Chamber of Commerce prevented the refund of our money. Totally defeated at this point, we went to the Best Western (one of the four hotels recommended by the "Ramada") and got a room there. It was not what we had hoped for, but we got some sleep despite waking up with midge flies in our mouths and ears. We are still trying to get all the dead flies out of our luggage and car.

Our advice...
1. Do not ever visit Mackinaw City during midge fly season.
2. Do not stay at the Ramada in Mackinaw City.
3. Do not assume that a hotel with a familiar name actually is part of the well known chain.
4. Never give your credit card to a hotel in Mackinaw City without first seeing the hotel and room.
5. Do not believe the pictures or advertisements of establishments in Mackinaw City. They are not even close to accurate.
6. Consider staying in another town if you prefer better accommodations. There does not appear to be any hotels in the area that the seasoned traveler would find acceptable. All the rooms in this area are only $60-$80 for a reason.
7. Lastly, if you are accustomed to any degree of finer dining, you will not find this in the area either.

Good luck!

Room Tip: See your room before paying for the room. Trust your instincts when you pull into the hotel...your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennings B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I think they must be in the middle of just opening or remodeling. The room was ok. It was clean and all, but there was not a picture on the wall anywhere. Which is not a big thing, it was just odd to look at the nails where the pictures had been. The hot tub was very hot, but would not bubble or anything, so it was like being in a big tub. The pool was very nice, but be careful when it condenses in there everything is very slick. They offer a breakfast, but for some reason it was not being served in the hotel that day. You had to get dressed and go across the street to the hotel for the breakfast. Which is ok, but inconvenient. We decided it was better to enjoy the in room coffee and sit on your porch and enjoy the view. The view was great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Ramada at Mackinaw City had its positives and negatives. First the room was very clean, the beds comfy and the staff was very friendly. That being said, the bathroom fan was seriously louder then a semi truck rolling down the road. Also, as we are watching the t.v. a large screen shot of whatever "surround sound" system they were using kept scrolling over the screen, every ten minutes which was very annoying. Another thing was the breakfast seemed to be served only when they wanted to serve it, as the breakfast service times changed from weekends to weekday, without anyone ever telling us. I walked down to eat breakfast at nine in the morning and it was already closed??? The pool was warm but the pool floor is very slippery, which could be a concern for children. Also, one of the hot tub steps floor board is broken and the railing is very loose which almost caused me to fall. The pool clock and hot tub timer were also broken. I noticed that 519Ron, talked about going to the hotel and finding it wasn't even opened, even after making a reservation. This actually happened to me and my fiancée a few years ago. It was sort of funny, as they left a large sign on the window, directing us to another hotel the chain owned. All in all, it wasn't bad for the money but I can't say it was great either.

Room Tip: Be wary of the "partial view" rooms which seem to include about a one inch view of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laqudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Ramada in mackinaw is an awesome place to stay the manager Ben is very helpful and accommodates if you need, anthother family in front of us was on the second floor and wanted a first floor room, so we offered our room and ended up trading with them and Ben had no problem with that at all. The beach at this place is amazing and very sandy the kids loved it, and the breakfast bar in the morning Is by far the best I've ever seen at a hotel. This hotel is also within walking distance off everything mackinaw has to offer. All in all awesome place to stay, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw City
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hot tub was broken and nothing was being done about it (even though many guests asked the staff about it). The public restroom was out of toilet paper and paper towel and the lady at the desk gave me a box of tissues while she was sitting there eating greasy food and licking her fingers (no joke). It was a filthy facility and the dining area was loaded with boxes. Our bathroom was filthy and the shower curtain had stains and the drain was slow to drain water so it was not fun standing in that during a shower. When we asked for one more towel we were told that she didn't know when she could get it to us and seemed annoyed by the request. The list goes on and on.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront

Property: Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront
Address: 723 South Huron / I-75, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Mackinaw City Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Limited Waterfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Ramada Hotel Mackinaw City
Ramada Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing