We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Was there in the off-season, in the middle of winter so I can't say how they are in the busy season but my experience was fantastic. Called in for a room at the last minute and got a room on the top floor with a view of the bridge and a small deck, unexpected to say the least. The room was very clean and quiet, the king bed was great and the staff was very professional. Just a couple blocks from the Bridge makes it easy for those going to the Fort or the Bridge for sightseeing. Most businesses were closed around the hotel for the season but for those staying during the warm months will find places to eat within a couple blocks.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a card-only access floor with private decks.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eli0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We work hard to provide fantastic service and amenities, and take pride in reviews such as yours that show how our hard work has paid off!

As you mentioned, there are a good number of local businesses that close for the season, but there are also several restaurants that are open with us year-round. In the winter months Audie’s restaurant, as well as Jr’s Taligate Pub, are within walking distance from our property.

Thank’s again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

We booked a room through hotwire, for this hotel. The description of the room included a fireplace. Upon check-in the clerk advised us that was a mistake, however, graciously she offered to give us a room with a fireplace. We ended up spending out 3 nights in a small suite. It was clean, and cozy. The cleaning staff made our room look great each and every day, and the breakfast was hot and fresh. They have a pancake maker !!!

We took notice of the neon lemon colored hallways ... WOW!! What is up with that?? Paint Special?? We theorized that it was a deterrent to prevent hallway socialization??

All in All we would rank very good

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy we were able to upgrade your room to a club level suite!

We are also happy you were able to give our newly acquired pancake maker a try! This maker has added to our hot breakfast offerings, and our guests can now expect a great pancake in addition to other hot items such as our signature cinnamon rolls.

And we highly encourage hallway socialization! The hallways were recently repainted, as well as additional lighting installed in order to brighten our halls. While we understand that the color is a little bright for some guests, the renovations have gone a long way toward making the hotel interior brighter and more welcoming.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you will stay with us again and experience our excellent customer service, clean rooms, and free hot breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here around Thanksgiving and found the accomodations very nice. We stayed on Wednesday night and had a room on the top floor. This was very nice (included a tv in the bathroom which my kids loved!) We then stayed again on Saturday in a regular room which was average. The rooms were clean and comfortable, The breakfast was good but after a large crowd they struggled providing hot food that was hot. The front desk staff was wonderful. Hot tub was cold...yes cold. Not even warm. The pool was warmer than the hot tub! I would stay again but probably won't pack a swimsuit for the pool :(

Room Tip: Get the top floor!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meow-Mom-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for your comments, regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback, so we can make the nice, nicer and the not so warm, warmer! Like any home, we have obstacles to overcome and some not so simple or quick to fix. So we hope that you will visit us again, in the near future, and don’t forget your swim suit! The pool has been the main attraction this winter, for guests and locals, alike. We strive to make the Holiday Inn Express – At the Bridge, Mackinaw City, a premier family destination, that is open Year-Round. ~ Denise Ruff, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

My husband and I were on our Honeymoon in Mackinaw. We made a reservation with this hotel a couple months before we were scheduled to come. When we arrived they had lost our reservation, and were very rude about it. They then told us that we were probably mistaken and made the reservation in a different city. They were very patronizing. We ended up getting a room with them anyways, and we got the jacuzzi room. When we turned the jacuzzi on hair shot out of the jets. It was so gross. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone to give us tablets to put in the jacuzzi. We then had to put them in and wait 30 minuets while it cleaned. This did not remove the hair so we gave up and went to bed. The breakfast was also lacking and the orange juice tasted terrible. I would never go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

The management and staff appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are truly disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide excellent service and a clean, comfortable room for every guest.

While there’s no excuse for the rudeness you experienced, your stay was during one of our busiest times of the year and we were catering to a full house as well as training a new employee at the time. We apologize sincerely for dropping the ball, and have implemented new procedures to ensure that any issues which may arise are handled in a way that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

We have also passed your comments on to our breakfast attendants, and they strive to ensure that our hot breakfast is of the highest possible quality.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns, and we do hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations with excellent service and a clean, comfortable room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite in Room 101. It was a great room with the best customer service I have experienced in many years. The breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi was fabulous!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAZ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you so much for the review! We are fully committed to our guest’s satisfaction, and we truly appreciate when this is reflected in traveler reviews such as yours!

The pancake machine is a recent addition to our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and has been a big hit!

We hope you stay with again the next time you are “up north” in the Mackinaw City area!

Thanks again,

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We first stayed here last summer 2010 and then this summer and Labor Day weekend. We have never experience a problem that would prevent us from staying here. Most of the negative reviews are probably from spoiled tourists that thinks they are the only people staying in the whole place.
This hotel is close to the best place to eat in town: Darrow's which is across the street so it is a good location. Has an indoor pool but I haven't been in there yet
Pet friendly on first floor only so it is close to the doors to let them out to potty. You MUST pick up after your pets which is only common sense although I saw a few piles where people opted not to do so and they will probably cause the place to not allow pets to stay so pick up after your pets!!!!
The breakfast area is kinda small during the summer with everyone in there at the same time, so take your time and be courteous to your neighbors.
My only complaint is due to the parking lot, there is limited parking close to the hotel or else you have to use an overflow lot where the employees park. One night we came in late and all of the spots were taken and some jerk parked in the southeastern corner by the large flagpole across 2 parking spaces because he had some fancy truck. I turned him in to the front desk and the employee claimed he wasn't allowed to call people after 10 p.m. I asked him why then do guests have to write their car make/model and license plate number and he acted like he didn't care.
We will return to the area next summer. I would recommend to stay here and I hope the mangement will enforce the parking lot a little better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iam4pacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Hello and thank you for the review! As you mentioned we are directly across the street from Darrow’s, which is a fantastic place to have dinner during the summer season. There are also several year-round options for dining within walking distance from the hotel, such as Audie’s restaurant and Jr’s Tailgate Pub.

We appreciate our guests picking up after their pets, and will continue to be a pet-friendly hotel. Our staff also keeps a close eye on the exterior of the hotel, and if our guests forget to clean up after their pets we take care of it as soon as possible.

Thank you also for the comments about our breakfast area. It is a result of your and other traveler’s comments that we have recently rearranged the layout of our breakfast area to provide a better experience during our hot breakfast buffet!

We understand your frustration with our parking lot, but please consider that this is a rare occurrence. Our lot surrounds the hotel, and as you mentioned we have overflow parking available for trucks and trailers. Our overflow lot is also very close to the front entrance of the hotel.

We collect vehicle information from our guests mainly to notify them in case they leave their headlights on, and to prevent non-guests from using our parking lot (Although we do offer a free service allowing non-guests to park in our overflow lot if they need a place to leave their vehicle).

Thanks again for the review! Feedback from our guests is an invaluable part of continuing to offer top-notch service and accommodations!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed in room #422,for 2 nights, that was a one bedroom suite, had a beautiful view of the Bridge. Looked like the 4th floor hallway had been recently painted with new carpet. Had not problems with managment or housekeeping. The HIE breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The 4th floor rooms were great the even #'s face the Bridge.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61cad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

We are glad you noticed our upgraded paint and carpets! We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area! The addition of a pancake machine to our breakfast buffet has been a hit with our guests, and our signature cinnamon rolls continue to be a great way to start the day after a comfortable night’s rest! Thank you for the positive review!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: £72 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing