We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamplighter Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Welcome Inn(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
210
175
91
42
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
175
91
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinehi expressfront deskcinnamon rollsroom was cleanthe breakfast areaceiling fanpool areanice staysmall balconyshort driveupper peninsulaoff seasonhot tubnice breakfastwould definitely stay here againthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My group and I recently stayed at the holiday inn express while touring Mackinaw City, Mackinaw Island and Soo Saint Marie. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating. The rooms
were clean with plenty of towels and amenities to accommodate our needs. There is a microwave,
refrigerator and each room has a small balcony. The Breakfast Buffett was plentiful and offered something for everyone.

The hotel is about a four block walk to downtown mackinaw and there are shops within a ten minute walk from the hotel. There is a pool and sauna, but I found this area to be very hot and
uncomfortable for sitting and relaxing but right outside the pool area is A very nice sitting area.

The business center is located within the lobby area with very little privacy making it difficult to
Concentrate.

The outside of the hotel is appealing especially at night when the lights are on.
The area is safe for walking.

Note: four floors, one elevator
If more than one group is staying, the elevator is very slow. Take the stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2226AYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear 2226AYoung,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived a few hours ago. The hotel has a musky smell and is very outdated. We paid $170 per night and ended up with a small (no balcony room) that looked over a gas station. The front desk was very unhelpful. You have to cross a highway to get to the main strip. Hotel is in a very sketchy area. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. The entire staff and management strive to help each guest, at every opportunity. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to our guests, with a friendly staff and quality amenities for your convenience.

The hotel is conveniently located just off the expressway, so we are easy-on and easy-off, whether you are just passing through or here to visit our historic resort town, located by the beautiful Straits of Mackinac. This is where Lake Michigan and Lake Huron meet, under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge. Even though we are located just off Interstate 75, all the local roads, lead under the highway, as it is illegal to cross it. The furthest distance from HIE to Shepler’s Mackinac Island Ferry, which is at the furthest end of downtown, is only 0.9 mi or a 13 minute walk. One route is along the beautiful lake shore, by Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse and museum. This route you can get awesome pictures of the bridge. The other route is 0.8 mi, lined with stores. This will allow you to shop your way to the Ferry docks.

We are sorry that you feel that we are outdated, “musky”, and that others should “stay away”. Resort towns typically, are damper areas, as they are surrounded by water. As it may appear to be a musty smell , high humidity and varying temperatures, adds to a variety of odors and allergen’s, in the air.

Our hotel has some history, just like our town. We are proud to say, our hotel is the VERY FIRST and ORIGINAL, of the Holiday Inn Express Brand, and we are in our 21st year. Also, we have begun our Property Improvement Plan, to update, with installation of new carpet and drapes, new lobby furniture, and new guest room pictures, for starters. Our new breakfast and guest room furniture is on the list. Our pool area is targeted, to be renovated, after the busy summer season and before the holidays. For those who have stayed in the past, the Fish Tank is gone!

Again, thank you, for sharing your review. It always gives us an opportunity to address any thoughts or concerns, not shared with us directly. Your patronage is very important to us.

Most sincerely, D~ Ruff, General Manager and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Messed up reservation so we ended up with the wrong room. Thin walls and everything just feels cramped. Breakfast was ok but staff was crazy and ran into me. Second bad stay and will never again will I stay here. Much better places to stay,

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiberjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay and we are sorry that you feel that you Never Again.

We sincerely apologize for the issues regarding your reservation, at the Holiday Inn Express, in Mackinaw City, MI. Although a very rare occurrence, when the hotel is unable to honor a reserved room type, it can result from the multiple booking channels, available these days, for guest to make reservations. Guests can reserve rooms through IHG Rewards Club nights, Third Party Internet (TPI) bookings, Mobile Apps, Hotel website and with the Central Reservation System (CRS) 800-Holiday, on top of reservations booked directly with the hotel. The reservations database is interfaced on a continuous basis, and in that instance, reservations are booked at the same time, and a room type is overbooked. When these situations arise, in addition to accommodating our guests to the very best of our ability, we also use these instances to communicate with our various booking channels, to ensure that the reservation and check-in process is as seamless as possible. We do our best to monitor and avoid any inconveniences to our valued guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed our signature hot breakfast. As you saw during your stay, the breakfast area can get very busy, especially when many come down at one time. Our breakfast attendants are extremely conscious and focused on keeping breakfast stocked and flowing, during the morning breakfast rush. They work hard to make sure all our guests have the quality and variety of breakfast items that they expect and deserve. After sharing this feedback with them, they were very apologetic for any unintended, miscalculation of their actions, by bumping into you. They take these comments to heart.

On behalf of the entire staff at Holiday Inn Express, in beautiful Mackinaw City, we again thank you for this opportunity to address the challenges we face, with technology and high occupancy, especially in the busiest time of year, in northern Michigan. As a team, our goal is to have a Great Hotel, Guests Love.

Most sincerely, D~ Ruff, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here while visiting Mackinaw Island. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, but your basic Holiday Inn Express. My only complaint is the pool areas is getting worn. The tile needs to be re-grouted, the ceiling is falling down and the overall impression of the area is poor.

(Don't forget to get towels from the front desk).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebarnmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear thebarnmichigan,

Thank you for the candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your comments regarding the pool area and it will be used for future improvements needed.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Holiday Inn saved our honeymoon in more ways than one. We originally were staying at Americas Best Value Inn to try to save some money. We learned quickly that you get what you pay for. After dealing with one horrible thing happening after another we were so fed up and went looking for any other hotel we could to help us out last minute.

We came into HIE and immediately we were helped and the staff was so nice and accommodating and really made the last night of our honeymoon what we were looking for all along. Since we told them our horror story about the other motel and that it was our honeymoon they made sure to make our room something that any honeymooner would love.
They even had a beautiful surprise waiting for us in the room. Truly amazing.

Honestly, with the nice staff, beautiful room, amazing view and wonderful help from HIE, they made up for the horrible two days we had prior in just a one night stay. My Husband and now are now staying at the HIE every time we visit mackinaw. I cant thank them enough for all they have truly done for us to make our special time that much more special. So thank you HIE from the bottom of my heart for everything you all have done! We both truly appreciate it so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews