We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed here for second day of snowmobile trip. Check in was quick and efficient, and the room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful throughout the stay, providing guests with cookies and hot coffee. Had dinner at nearby Audie's and was surprised there was no shuttle. Comp breakfast was great - big selection of hot food, cereal, pastry and more. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rrileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, at the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge, it has been great to have so many wonderful snowmobile guests. This winter has been a challenging one and not so positive for many. Our heart goes out to those states, including our own. Northern Michigan has been beautiful in a blanket of white and an awesome winter sport wonderland. Those that have braved the subzero temperatures, to enjoy traveling to Mackinaw City, on snowmobiles, we thank you!
Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    164
    87
    42
    28
See reviews for
168
186
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Five star hotel. One of maybe three places to stay in the winter. If you get a balcony room, you can see The Bridge. Prices reasonable and the staff super friendly, even if you do have to add another night due to michigans nutty weather. Easily accessible as well from I-75

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mcgaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear mcgaula,

On behalf of the entire staff, of the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge, a 5 Star Thank You! We are pleased for the opportunity to have you as our guest. Our Hospitality Promise: Making your stay a complete success. Our goal and commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main concern. We look forward to having you as our guest, the next time you visit the area for business.

Most sincerely, D Ruff ~General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stay here several times per year, normally in the winter when rates are off-season. The biggest reason I stay here is that it is conveniently located near a restaurant that I like to eat at. Rooms are dated but clean. The bed was comfortable. However they need to pay more attention to breakfast. I don't ask for much; I normally have a bowl of cereal and fruit. This morning however, the bananas looked terrible and all of the skim milk (20+ cartons) were all expired. Not that I would have eaten them but the eggs looked like they were day old. Thus I went out for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhkfwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and sharing your thoughts with us. It gives us an opportunity to express our sincere apology for our short coming and the challenges we face in the off-season of northern Michigan. Bananas are a mandatory fruit on the Holiday Inn Express, "Express Start" breakfast bar. It is also the most perishable. We utilize the small local grocery store, yet sometimes they are too green. We feel like Goldie Locks with the porridge, trying to have the bananas be just right. Too hot or too cold will make a banana turn brown extremely fast. Sometimes living in a small resort town, makes you appreciate the luxury of a larger town where delivery dates are regular and business is steady. Believe it or not, every day we discuss the challenge of milk and bananas. The bakers on staff make a lot of banana bread and muffins!

Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction is truly and sincerely, our main concern. The entire staff and management at the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

When in the area we always stop at Holiday Inn Express By the Bridge. It is so nice, quiet, and the staff are so friendly! These people really go out of their way to help. We love the selection at the breakfast buffet, there is so much to choose from. When we had a probem with a light fixture, some one came up in a matter of minutes to help, it was only a matter of the light neede a new bulb. We love the location, easy walking distance to so many attractions including the fort. A beautiful view of the bridge and lake if you book in advance and ask for that. Very clean and so quiet for the number of people staying. Keep up the good work!!!

Room Tip: Book in advance to request the type of room you would like
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear M W,

It is our mission to create a Great Hotel Guests Love, so your review is confirmation that we are reaching our goal to be a friendly home-away-from-home, where our guests can Stay Comfortable, Relaxed and be themselves! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and hope you have a great holiday season. It is also our hope to have you as our guest, again, in the New Year!

Best regards, The entire team of the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Denise Ruff the General Manager was very helpful and upgraded us to a jacuzzi room and the rest of our family as will. She was extremely professional and kind. The stay was great and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammer829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is our goal, as a team, to create a Great hotel Guests Love! I thank you for your kind words and giving us an opportunity to make your family gathering an enjoyable one. It was truly MY pleasure to meet you all. The staff and I were delighted to watch your family utilize our great room, playing games and making Mackinaw Memories..... We look forward to welcoming you back! Until next time...

Happy Holidays from Our family to yours, D Ruff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is a perfect location for sightseeing. It has an excellent restaurant adjacent to it. It is right off the highway and yet was very quiet. The staff was very helpful - giving us advice on sights, the Mackinaw Island, and restaurants. Very reasonable with a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floors all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, at the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge.
We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to make your stay in our area, a memorable one.

Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were heading home from Marquette, Mi and needed an overnight stop. Finding a place open in Mackinaw City in November is not easy. After one failed attempt at another hotel I contacted the Holiday Inn. Reservations were made and I was looking forward to a nice hot tub to relax in when we arrived but at check in there was a notice that the pool area was being remodeled. I was so disappointed and the clerk could tell so she offered us a upgrade to make things work for me. We received a beautiful suite with a in room jacuzzi which was better then the hot tub option. The room itself was very comfortable with couch and chairs, clean and neat and a view of the bridge towers from both northern facing windows. The breakfast was okay as many others have said on here. But it beat going out in the unexpected snow to get something to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredmomoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. The entire staff and management sincerely appreciate all feedback, so we can continue to deliver the service that helps make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Our previous guests asked for a pool renovation and we listened. This particular renovation is never an easy one, nor is there ever a perfect time to do it. As any remodel or construction, there are unforeseen challenges that may take extra attention. We take every measure to overcome the obstacles that we encounter, the best we can. The staff is as anxious to see the pool open, as our guests are. Thank you, as well, for staying with us despite the pool closure and we invite you to include us in your future plans when you visit the area again.

Happy Holidays from our family to yours, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
879 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing