We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yucky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yucky”
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The hotel looks nice on the outside, but the rooms are not too nice. The sagging mattresses are ancient. We were supposed to stay two nights but left for a newer place on the water for about $10 more a night. It was really worth it.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseaiscute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    165
    89
    42
    30
See reviews for
170
188
19
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, IN
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Clean, quiet & very nice room. Good hot & cold morning breakfast. Did not hear noise. even though right by interstate. Easy to get to all areas of town. Did not use pool, but looked nice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Price, location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovingit95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, MI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

This was good use of hotel rewards points. We just stayed one night. Good location, right off the highway, but not plagued by road noise. We had the view of I-75 and the Doughnut shop instead of the side facing the Bridge. Breakfast was pretty good and the gal servicing it was truly amazing in how quickly she kept everything well-stocked and cleaned up. The kids liked the pool, which was bigger than most.

Bottom line, we'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AssociationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Review of room #325. Phone on nightstand had no dial tone on any button you pushed, and was inoperable except for the red message light that blinked constantly. Yes, I checked to be sure it was plugged in. Then, the right half of the curtain over the double window was broken.....couldnt push or pull it along the top rods, because the wand was broken off as were some of the plastic mountings on the curtain. The Balcony had cheap plastic lawn chairs that were covered with fish flies and dead bugs, as was the floor. The overhead blacony has a 100 watt light which comes on at 9pm and stays on all night long. There is no switch to turn it off. With the complete length of the window curtain being open at the top and a white painted balcony and overhang, it absolutely floods the room with light all night. It's bright enough where you could read a book. Room 325 overlooks the first freeway exit off the bridge, and provides the guests with a wonderful view of I-75 Southbound, a Shell Gasoline Station with party store ( open 24 hours a day) a huge, massive lighted DONUT'S sign....and an empty parking owned by a plumbing outfit. . Rooms had little to no soundproofing so we heard every single trucker or biker with extra loud pipes who rolled by.....all day and all night long. Only reason we stayed here for 2 nights was the overflow parking lot that was big enough so we could park our Tahoe and 14" trailer and be out of the way of other guests. No other hotel/motel in Mackinaw City had such a set up that we could spot from driving by. Trust me, we would have left if it wasnt for that. The cards they give you wont open any of outside doors or work in the elevators unless you're assigned the 4th floor. The room was nothing special. You got 1 chair, one table and 2 queen beds, and a long table which held a TV. I couldn't tell if the beds were pillow top or not.....so that should tell you something right there. They plop a microwave on top of a dorm style fridge stuck in the corner of the room. No TV station cable guide. We didnt get the special pass they aluded to in their notebook on the TV table, and which we were suppose to receive at Check In. It's suppose give you discounts at some restaurants. Would have been nice to have gotten the 10% discount at Audies had we had it. Audies still has excellent fine dining, and is within walking distance of the Holiday Inn. Darrows is a family style, NON SMOKING restaurant and is absolutely spotlessly clean...UNLIKE our room. Visible thick dust on the bed headboards, on the bottom of the round table and on the TV stand. The bathroom floor had visible dirt in the corners. No overhead lighting is in the shower and once the curtain is pulled, it's quite dark in the area. We never did figure out how to shut off the overhead ceiling fan that ran constantly for 2 days and nights. On our second nights stay, we had come back from a 200 mile motorcycle trip only to find our key card wouldn't work. Although we checked in that morning and said we would be staying a second night, and they confirmed it.... they didnt reactivate our cards. So back down to the first floor we had to go to get them to work. I was going to purchase bottled juice they had in the vending machines semi hidden on both the main and 3rd floor. Who ever stocked them had the bottle lables turned so you had NO IDEA what flavor was in the bottles. So I gave up.
Oh, I forgot.......we didnt get a newspaper the first morning, but did the second. We reported the phone and curtain problems within the first hour we were there.......48 hours later, still not fixed. So much for being a priority member.

  • Liked — Close to Restaurants
  • Disliked — ALL NIGHT BALCONY LIGHT, BROKEN CURTAIN, DUST AND NO OVERHEAD SHOWER LIGHT
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Expresses before and thought this was the safest place to stay near Mackinac seeing that most of the hotels in the area are a little scary.

We booked a few months in advance for one of the busiest weeks up there. It was during the Chicago/Mackinac Sailboat race and the hotel was booked solid. We arrived and our room was next to the lobby. We were the 1st room so everyone that walked to the lobby for the pool or the crazy breakfast we heard them. Since we booked awhile ago, I was disappointed with the room location we received. The room across the hall from us was smoking and it stunk up the whole hallway. Our non-smoking room smelled like it had been a smoking room at one time, and had never been adequately cleaned when it was converted to a non-smoking room. It was also so humid in there that our towels never dried, even with the AC running non-stop.

The curtains in our rooms did not close all the way so there was a 1" gap and we were on the ground floor. I went back to the front desk asking for a new room and they said they were booked and didn't have anywhere to move us. So we were forced to stay. Luckily, maintenance was able to fix the curtains, so we did have some privacy.

The bed was uncomfortable so neither of us slept well for the 2 nights.

We also picked this hotel because of the wireless internet access. We couldn't get a signal in our room and when we called technical support we were told to get a "bridge" from the front desk. The front desk said they only had 1 and another room already had it. We noticed that there were always 3 to 4 people in the lobby on their laptops so there must not be a very good wireless signal anywhere in the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room smell
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meowmits99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We thought this was a newer property. It is already a bit run down. The pool is full of chlorine and band-aids no towels in the pool area. It was extremely crowded for breakfast, beds were uncomfortable. We had a room on the third floor at the end. Alot of kids running up and down the hall. Great walking distance to the strip in the city. Just overall not a great Hotel. You will be disappointed. Stay on Mackinaw, well worth it...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank grosseile2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2008

I expected a lot more, I was expecting a beautiful view of the water and bridge. NOT!!!! We had a room on the 3rd floor and could see a little water and lots of trees but nothing of the bridge. The room was nothing to brag about, dead bugs on the ceiling, shower curtain was dirty and stained. I think every towel I used had holes in it. Didn't spend any time on the balcony because it was dirty and dead bugs everywhere. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I was not impressed. It was a place to sleep. I was woke several times a night because of the highway and the loud semi's. Breakfast had a big selection and was good. I found the location to be okay. It was two blocks from the bridge and water. It was four or five blocks from shopping.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scaw5128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
625 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#20 of 39 in Mackinaw City
897 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western Harbour Pointe Lakefront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing