We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“convenient”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a convenient place to stay. Friendly, and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Pool does not open until 9:00. We would have liked it to open at 8:00 or earlier, like at other hotels (including Holiday Inn Express's) that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thincinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    157
    83
    41
    28
See reviews for
160
181
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is in the heart of Mackinaw City, very close to the Mackinac Bridge. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was terrific with many choices both hot and cold, including pancakes. The location is very convenient to Fort Michilimackinac and also very close to the ferries to Mackinac Island.

Room Tip: We had an ADA accessible room on the first floor. It was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSusiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had such a great stay here. We were lucky enough to have a beautiful view from our small balcony of the bridge. The staff was super friendly, our room was lovely, quiet and comfortable and the breakfast was terrific. The hotel is very convenient to Colonial Michilimackinac you can definitely walk there. One huge disappointment....we could not get the WIFI to work AT ALL. We ended up using our phones for the internet. If that is important to you, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29kindergartencuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here at the end of May, and was pleased with the room. It was actually quite large and boasted a small balcony. We could just see the bridge from our room. The staff was friendly at check in and offered food recommendations. I liked the room -- a little out dated, but nice. I would suggest that the staff pay more attention to the balconies, as they had lots of cobwebs on them and needed some paint. But all in all nice. Be warned of the MIDGE FLIES, though! They over take this whole part of the state for a 1-2 week long period and they are awful! Had we known about them we would have planned our trip for another weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
429 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you stay here, you may not have a spectacular view of the water or The Bridge but you will have a good night’s rest and have easy access to Mackinaw City and the other sites by foot. Our rooms were very spacious with a small balcony. The only downside of the balcony is that the air conditioner vents to the balcony. We shut off the air conditioner until we were in for the night and it was fine. This property is hopping around July 4 so don’t expect the breakfast area to be quiet or empty when you get there. The breakfast items were kept fresh and the area very clean. When departing, you are very close to the entrance for 75 South.

Room Tip: Ask if you would like to have a water view even though this is not a waterfront property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the beginning of July. It was a nice stay. The staff does need good customer service training. Some staff was quite rude to us sometimes. The room was quiet, clean and comfy. The pool is wonderful, very warm and big. The breakfast had nice selection. Overall a pretty nice stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benavides, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travel frequently and had never come across a hotel that allowed a guest to book the floor they wished to stay on. This how it should be done. Staff was great and the location even better. It offers a convenient jumping off point to Mackinac Island. Good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aSalas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEMC, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear aSalas53,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We agree that our location makes it very convenient to catch the ferry to Mackinaw Island. There are several ways to get to the dock and all are good options depending on the weather. Both ferry lines have a free shuttle from our hotel to the dock. The walk is less than 15 minutes, it's a short bike ride, or should our guests choose to drive that takes less than five minutes.

Our staff tries hard to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their stay, thanks for noticing!

Please let us know the next time you are in Northern Michigan, we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#23 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Address: 364 Louvingney, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9670
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing