We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff - Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stay here quite often because it is convenient and reasonably priced. The staff is very friendly. The room linens and mattress could use some updates, but the room is clean and the "motel" rooms (door leading directly to parking lot) are surprisingly quiet. The A/C is old school, meaning you can select ON or OFF, so in the winter you could wake up in a sweat. The breakfast is average. Overall, a good clean hotel for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djvano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

So I don't know how I ended up here.. well I do,... I let a family member book a decently priced hotel in Troy, MI and this is what I got. Needless to say, she will NEVER be booking any more hotels for me again if I can help it.

Location: I did not feel safe at all. I looked over my shoulder every few seconds when going to my car and from my car back to the hotel/motel. Applebee's (open till 11pm) , McDonalds and Coney Island are literally across the street.

Pros: close to I-75, friendly staff, nice breakfast area, clean. 3rd Floor is indoor with a security door to access it. Decent rooms inside and clean. Internet was ok for emails, not great for videos. Speed's per SpeedTest.net were Download: 1.3 Mbps and Upload 0.8 Mbps.

Cons: Its pretty much a motel, didn't feel safe (but I'm sure it was safe, i'm just spoiled and paranoid thanks to the Media and our always 'bad news' giving News Stations).

If you are not very picky, like me, then you will find it decent. If you are very picky, keep driving.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDoctor786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

When I tried making reservations around town, this was the only Marriott property that had room. It was clean and the front desk staff were very accommodating. The set up of the hotel is a bit odd but the most important things were there. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Most people using this hotel are on business so the pool and exercise room aren't used much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sixxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stay in many hotels for business though out Michigan, Ohio and Canada. This is an older Fairfield Inn, but is very clean and comfortable. The employees really are some of the friendliest ones I encounter. Hope Marriott does not make this hotel change as they have many others.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank M-Miles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This has got to be the worst fairfield property.....I thought I was at some on-name crappy place...dingy, dirty...cheap everything.....and I paid $99!! terrible.

Room Tip: Tip - Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaysonC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

For a 2.5 star hotel, it was lovely. I travel 3-4 times a month, to different cities and stay in hotels that are 3-4x the price of this one that are not as attentive, clean or comfortable.

Although the rooms face outside, (seems like this may be a renovated motel?) the third floor doesn't. Not sure if it is more expensive. I stayed on the 2nd floor (would've asked for 3rd if I new it was enclosed). It was warm, cozy and quiet. My 3rd floor neighbor seemed to be pacing the room all morning, but at least stopped during sleep time!

Breakfast was hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cold cereal, waffles, bagels, toast, juice, yogurt, coffee and tea. What I really liked is the attentiveness of the breakfast girl every morning. She kept tables and buffet clean and tidy. If I needed anything, she was right there.

The staff seemed all be this attentive and very friendly. I would stay here again upon returning back to Royal Oak for business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunytrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We did not stay at this hotel due to booking issue. But we find hotel staff on night duty was very helpful to assist us. I think we will try this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sysy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Troy
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
2.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area

Address: 32800 Stephenson Hwy, Madison Heights, MI 48071-5524 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Madison Heights)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Detroit Troy / Madison Heights Hotel Madison Heights
Fairfield Inn Madison Heights
Fairfield Madison Heights
Madison Heights Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing