We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Twlight Zone of This Hotel Chain” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Twlight Zone of This Hotel Chain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Extended StayAmerica Detroit-Madison Heights on October 28, 2008 because I needed a room for my son. I took him to the Detroit Zoo's Annual "Zoo Boo" and needed a place a little close to get him out of the cold. I was going to do the Red Roof Inn. However, they wanted $61 for a room with a small refrigerator and microwave. Therefore, I decided to do the Extended StayAmerica Detroit-Madison Heights because it was a bit cheaper and you get a kitchen.

Cheap doesn't begin to describe this hotel. When I checked in; The customer service person didn't even ask if I wanted the internet nor did she inform me of check out time. I was in such a rush to get my son into his costume and get back out that I didn't notice a lot of the stuff until that night when we returned or the next day. The toilet tissue roll in the bathroom was broken so it didn't hold the toilet tissue up and it kept falling to the floor. The pillows on the bed were so flat that I ended up having to stick towels inside the pillow case just to get that comfort I was searching for. The bed seem to have been sunken down and could have been broken, which I didn't notice until I tried to sleep and the next morning. The A/C in the room did not work at all. It kept cutting off and I found it difficult to sleep as I needed the background noise to sleep.

The next morning, I discovered the dresser was a total and utterly mess. The cosmetics on it was horrifying, it's was all torn up and beat up. The microwave in the room didn't seem to work I had to warm up food at least 10 times just to get it to the desire temperature. When I opened the microwave there was a dirty plate in the microwave. When I went to make coffee the coffee brewer was already filled with a previous pack of coffee that housekeeping hadn't even dumped out. When I went to give my son a bath, the bath stopper switch didn't want to work and the hot water didn't work either. This was a horrible hotel experience as I have stayed at other chains for this hotel and have had no issues. The only reason I would ever stay here again is if I was in a really bad bind and Red Roof Inn didn't have any rooms available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicgrlladisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    7
    17
    17
See reviews for
12
12
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dru_travels_alot
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I was really surprised by the state of this hotel when we showed up. I was not expecting frills for the $70 a night we paid however I was expecting the basics. The wireless internet I paid an extra $4.99 a night for didn't work. The hallways smelled of burned food people were cooking in their rooms and looked dirty and unwelcoming. We called the front desk to ask if they had shampoo and were told they did not provide any amenities. When I went out to my car to drive to get some random men were sitting in their vehicles loitering in the parking lot and I actually felt unsafe. When I went to check out in the morning I was informed the front desk staff had not showed up yet so I had to wait until someone got there to check out. Not what I expected from the brand name. Steer clear of this one!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DES_travels_alot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Need to hire a cleaning staff that care about their job and take pride in their work .need better management staff someone who knows how to manage .

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We had a reservation to stay here while visiting family in the area during the 4th of July weekend. The bathroom sink had hair in it and did not look like it had been cleaned. There was hair on the sheets. My husband checked his coffee cup before pouring his coffee and it felt all sticky and scummy. The thing that really turned me off was the sheets and pillows had that old, stale smell and I couldn't get that smell out of my head. We had a reservation for three nights, but moved next door after staying only one night. On a positive note, the ladies who worked at the desk both in the evening and morning could not have been nicer. They were very helpful and friendly. This is the first time I have written a bad review on a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrg5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal oak michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank painter009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2006

Let me start by saying that the staff here are very courtious and friendly. It is close to shopping, with grocery stores and resturants close by. Near I 75 and between 13 Mile and 14 Mile roads makes it easy to get where ever you need to be in the area. Traffic noise doesn't really bother me, but if you are affected by the humm of the highway be aware that you will heare it all night long. It appears to be in a really safe area, which is a big plus for a woman traveling alone. I travel on business and don't really have any say as to where my company books my rooms. I stayed here on three consective weeks in three different rooms. Each stay, there was a different cleanliness issue. The first time the bathroom was not as clean as it should have been, the second time the cleaning staff had neglected to change the bed linens and the third time, the dishes and microwave were in serious need of soaking and scrubbing. In all other respects the place was quite clean, and the hallways and elevator were immaculate. I assume that it is possible they are currently short staffed or have inexperenced cleaning staff which lead to things being overlooked. It is a shame, because in the future given a choice I would not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spidersart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison Heights
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison Heights Detroit Area
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Madison Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madison Heights
Residence Inn Detroit Troy/Madis...
#3 of 9 in Madison Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights

Property: Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights
Address: 32690 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cash is accepted as a form of payment for those guests paying by a weekly or monthly rate. A valid credit card must be kept on file for incidentals. Cash is not accepted as a method of payment for guests paying the daily rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Madison Heights
Madison Heights Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing