We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent restaurant on the river”

The Boathouse Grill
Ranked #12 of 42 Restaurants in Manistee
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
296 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Another excellent restaurant on the river”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This restaurant has a wonderful view of the Manistee River and Riverwalk!
There are outside tables available when the weather is good - it wasn't the evening we were there though!
Service was very good as was the food.
Dinner was an order of delicious mussels (shared by the 2 of us), and 2 entrees: linguine with shrimp and blackened grouper. Nice cold local beer was served as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLiv-NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    43
    17
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, Great staff, Excellent food, great view”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We got there kind of late(after dark) view of river would've been better in daylight. We were concerned that the place was almost empty, looked at menu and was sold. Mike was host and waiter, did a great job. His opinions of the menu can be trusted. We each had a bowl of Lobster Bisque, OMG!!!! It was late so we split the fresh perch dinner w veggies and their special mashed potatoes, very very good. I wish this place wasn't 4 hrs from home. We were up there salmon fishing for a 2 day getaway. Portions were above average in size. Food was prepared fresh and came to table hot. Don't miss this Restruant when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkledorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the better options. Loved the river view!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I had the chicken, bacon, avocado special, but they forgot the avocado in my sandwich (fail). When they gave me my avocado, it was an old piece of avocado which had a funky taste. My husband had the hanger beef sandwich and he loved it. I enjoyed the river view. Not too bad of a place, especially in Manistee. Would try again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zullette01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
201 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Perch”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Take a weekend and relax outside while watching the freighters come down the Manistee River. Make sure to order the perch sandwich. It is fantastic. The fries might be cold. Just have them bring you hot ones. Perch is the only thing we ever order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyjack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience in years”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Pasta dishes are awful. Way overpriced. Menu was very limited. Drinks were warm. Servuce was extremely poor. Manager was RUDE and shirt when we brought concerns to him. His suggestion was to remake the crappy meals we had been served. Past 3 years have been okay here; maybe new owners...definitely not the same. Never going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mks6834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse Grill also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to The Boathouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing