We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Restored Hotel”
Review of The Ramsdell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ramsdell Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully Restored Hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed multiple times in the suites on the third and fourth floors. Nice little table and chairs overlooking the city on three sides. The woodwork and large windows remind visitors of the 1920s and 30s, but it is updated with amenities like WiFi. The staff is always great! The restaurant is very popular, also. Located right downtown, it is perfect for walking along the river. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who can climb stairs. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WggArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    20
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
44
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the 4th floor Ramsdell Suite this past week and were not disappointed. It was lovely. The staff was friendly and you ran into them often as they do everything at the hotel, from checking you in to doing the laundry. We ate a couple of times at TJ's in the lower level. The food was good and we enjoyed Will the bartender. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel! There are only 10 rooms. We stayed in The Morton. The room was not large, but the bed was great and it was clean and quaint. The bath is large and well appointed. Beautiful. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Ramsdell for a little anniversary get a way. The hotel is a converted bank, with lots of history everywhere you look. I liked the mural above the vault, and the check-in is set up like a bank teller. We stayed in a suite on the 4th floor, it includes the interior space of the iconic rounded "tower" you see from the outside. Very roomy space, with a king size bed in one room, and a beautiful sitting room adjacent. Surrounded by windows, the sitting room is a beautiful perch to take in the sites of Manistee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunandBoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently did a ten day tour in western Michigan. The Ramsdell Inn was our best stay for this tour. The folks of the Ramsdell took a classic old bank in downtown Manistee and turned it into a mini-first class hotel. The rooms are tastefully appointed with a "vintage look." The lobby it extraordinary. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. It is well worth the visit to Manistee just to stay at the Ramsdell Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had hoped from previous reviews that the Ramsdell Inn was something special and it did not disappoint. I stayed for 2 nights over Memorial weekend. Very tastefully decorated without disturbing the historical beauty of the building. It's luxury and comfort made me feel right at home. Manistee was booming with people for the holiday weekend making it not as quiet during business hours, but it was still very quiet during sleeping hours. The heat & a/c unit was also very quiet, like being at home. The Manistee Riverwalk is across the street providing a beautiful waterfront path leading out to Lake Michigan and the Manistee Pierhead Lighthouse. This is not a hotel for people who are looking to be entertained by the hotel, you must venture out and seek activities on your own, which made it perfect for me. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: I reserved a standard room, the smallest that they offer. It had a queen size bed with plenty of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ramsdell Inn in Manistee, MI last weekend and found it delightful. It was just so peaceful, quiet and relaxing. It is a hotel, but it has the feel of a bed & breakfast. We saw only one other guest during our 2 day stay. You are greeted by the hotel desk if you come before 6PM. If not, you go to TJ's Pub ( a whole other review) in the lower half of the building and pick up your key from the pub's manager.

We met 3 different people working the hotel desk and I cannot say enough about how kind, friendly, and helpful they were.

The hotel lobby is absolutely grand, with marble floors and columns, intricate plaster crwon molding, rich harwood paneling, with the most interesting scalloped ceilings.

We up graded to a room with a queen bed and found it to be spacious and lovely The building was formerly a tradional, lavish bank, so of course all the rooms have been remodeled and are very updated. All rooms have floor to ceiling windows looking out on to the downtown's main streets. We found it inviting, and so peaceful to be able to watch this cold, sleepy winter town, not moving.

I highly recommend the Ramsdell Inn for any mature traveler looking for comfort and elegance without ostentaious luxury. It is a gratious setting, with charm, character, beauty, and historical preservation, that captures the once rich history of the lumber barrens who built these unique works of art and architecture.


I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the street side. For a larger bed and little more space, up grand to a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfJ_1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
541 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ramsdell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramsdell Inn

Property: The Ramsdell Inn
Address: 399 River St, Manistee, MI 49660-2737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique property was developed into a charming boutique hotel in 2004. In 2008 a 50 seat restaurant was added. The pub is situated in the "below street level" space. The rooms are generous with classic decor and 20 foot ceilings. There are standard, fireplace and suite accommodations to chose from. There is a large lobby over looking the main corner in the downtown. This property is a short walk from the Lake Michigan Shore. A Riverwalk/boardwalk is situated just a few steps in front of the hotel for your strolling pleasure. A Casino is located within 7 minutes and their shuttle will pick you up! Rooms are set up with coffee, alarm clocks, cable television, dvd player, WiFi. 4 rooms and 2 suites offer an electric fireplace. Linens are lush, mattresses were custom made for comfort. Please know, due to our Historical designation Elevators were not required. Restored staircases lead you one or 2 levels up to your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ramsdell Hotel Manistee
Ramsdell Hotel Manistee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing