We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Ramsdell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ramsdell Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

One of the best experiences in a hotel that I've had in a long time. Super clean, very tastefully decorated and updated with lovely bedding. I loved the historic nature of the building. We hadn't stayed in Manistee before and thought we'd give it a try. We'll be back! The Ramsdell Inn is in a great location downtown and we enjoyed looking out the very large windows in our room at the goings-on on the street below. We didn't eat at T.J.'s because there was a band. Had a great time grabbing cocktails on the back deck at River Street Station and then a delicious meal on the deck at the Boathouse Grill -- both in easy walking distance from the Ramsdell. Really fantastic one-night trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    21
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
44
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed multiple times in the suites on the third and fourth floors. Nice little table and chairs overlooking the city on three sides. The woodwork and large windows remind visitors of the 1920s and 30s, but it is updated with amenities like WiFi. The staff is always great! The restaurant is very popular, also. Located right downtown, it is perfect for walking along the river. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who can climb stairs. There is no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WggArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed in the 4th floor Ramsdell Suite this past week and were not disappointed. It was lovely. The staff was friendly and you ran into them often as they do everything at the hotel, from checking you in to doing the laundry. We ate a couple of times at TJ's in the lower level. The food was good and we enjoyed Will the bartender. We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel! There are only 10 rooms. We stayed in The Morton. The room was not large, but the bed was great and it was clean and quaint. The bath is large and well appointed. Beautiful. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Ramsdell for a little anniversary get a way. The hotel is a converted bank, with lots of history everywhere you look. I liked the mural above the vault, and the check-in is set up like a bank teller. We stayed in a suite on the 4th floor, it includes the interior space of the iconic rounded "tower" you see from the outside. Very roomy space, with a king size bed in one room, and a beautiful sitting room adjacent. Surrounded by windows, the sitting room is a beautiful perch to take in the sites of Manistee.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunandBoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently did a ten day tour in western Michigan. The Ramsdell Inn was our best stay for this tour. The folks of the Ramsdell took a classic old bank in downtown Manistee and turned it into a mini-first class hotel. The rooms are tastefully appointed with a "vintage look." The lobby it extraordinary. Service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. It is well worth the visit to Manistee just to stay at the Ramsdell Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had hoped from previous reviews that the Ramsdell Inn was something special and it did not disappoint. I stayed for 2 nights over Memorial weekend. Very tastefully decorated without disturbing the historical beauty of the building. It's luxury and comfort made me feel right at home. Manistee was booming with people for the holiday weekend making it not as quiet during business hours, but it was still very quiet during sleeping hours. The heat & a/c unit was also very quiet, like being at home. The Manistee Riverwalk is across the street providing a beautiful waterfront path leading out to Lake Michigan and the Manistee Pierhead Lighthouse. This is not a hotel for people who are looking to be entertained by the hotel, you must venture out and seek activities on your own, which made it perfect for me. I will definitely stay here again and highly recommend.

Room Tip: I reserved a standard room, the smallest that they offer. It had a queen size bed with plenty of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manistee
2.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
564 reviews
20.7 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Motel & Marina
Riverside Motel & Marina
#9 of 10 in Manistee
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ramsdell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramsdell Inn

Property: The Ramsdell Inn
Address: 399 River St, Manistee, MI 49660-2737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique property was developed into a charming boutique hotel in 2004. In 2008 a 50 seat restaurant was added. The pub is situated in the "below street level" space. The rooms are generous with classic decor and 20 foot ceilings. There are standard, fireplace and suite accommodations to chose from. There is a large lobby over looking the main corner in the downtown. This property is a short walk from the Lake Michigan Shore. A Riverwalk/boardwalk is situated just a few steps in front of the hotel for your strolling pleasure. A Casino is located within 7 minutes and their shuttle will pick you up! Rooms are set up with coffee, alarm clocks, cable television, dvd player, WiFi. 4 rooms and 2 suites offer an electric fireplace. Linens are lush, mattresses were custom made for comfort. Please know, due to our Historical designation Elevators were not required. Restored staircases lead you one or 2 levels up to your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ramsdell Hotel Manistee
Ramsdell Hotel Manistee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing