We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding”
Review of The Upper Crust

The Upper Crust
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Manistique
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Beautiful waterfront cafe with super fresh sandwiches, hearty soups & homemade desserts! Breakfast menu served daily until 11am! Catering for all occasions! Call ahead for current hours of operation.
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We came here based on the TripAdvisor recommendations of other visitors and we were not disappointed. The Upper Crust serves high quality sandwiches and soups which are of excellent quality and taste. This is a must try for everyone who is visiting this area. Our family of 5 tried various different sandwiches and soups and every single item on the menu exceeded our expectations. Please, do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a great meal right by the water. THANK YOU

Thank Svenja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindasmith1973, Owner at The Upper Crust, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Well, this might be the nicest review we've ever received! THANK YOU! Wow... thanks so much for very nice words and I will pass it along to our staff and let them know, too. We SO appreciate it - makes this whole crazy idea worthwhile to make our guests happy and satisfied. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again the next time you're in town. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere, excellent staff.
This is a go to place in Manistique. Enjoy your brunch or lunch then stroll to the new pavilion and boardwalk to the west breakwall.

Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindasmith1973, Owner at The Upper Crust, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much! We appreciate the very kind review. We try to make everyone feel welcome and give it our best - we thank you for your continued patronage of our little shop!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Was told by a local that this is where they eat all the time, so we did and were very pleased. Terrific soups and sandwiches, excellent food and service. Thanks!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatsyTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindasmith1973, Owner at The Upper Crust, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you so much for giving us a try! I am thankful for our faithful local patrons - glad they could steer you our direction! Thank you for the nice review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

While passing through Manistique on a vacation, it was because of the good Trip Advisor reviews that we decided to track down The Upper Crust for lunch. I'm so glad we did! What an appealing, spacious restaurant and what wonderful food. Five of us each ordered something different from their extensive menu (tuna melt, Greek salad, BLT, grilled cheese, and soup). Everyone was happy with their choice including my eight year old grandson who is a fussy eater. Every staff member we had contact with was friendly and helpful. We finished with a variety of cookies that were on display in the front case. Before we left, I decided to purchase a bag of their homemade granola. Sampled it this morning for breakfast and it was great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindasmith1973, Owner at The Upper Crust, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thank you so much! We really appreciate you giving us a chance - I know it's hard to trust an independent restaurant to deliver. We have been working since 1999 to make our shop a welcoming place and it makes me very happy to hear that you had a good experience when you stopped by for lunch. Thanks for taking the time to say something nice! We appreciate you & our customers & know that it's nice comments like these that make all the hard work worthwhile. Hope to see you again the next time through Manistique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stopped here as we were traveling through the U.P. A bright, cheery Deli, but much more than that. The food was excellent with three homemade soups to choose from and sandwiches and wraps off the grill that were delicious. The only critique I might have, more a suggestion than a criticism, would be to prune the foliage around the deck and windows so as not to obstruct the spectacular view of Lake Michigan. You won't be disappointed. You must give this place a try.

Thank LisaMB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindasmith1973, Owner at The Upper Crust, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Awesome! Thank you so much! To address the foliage - you bet we need to cut it down! We cut it every other year in July (it's supposed to make is less likely to grow as fast if it's done during peak growing season). My poor husband is given the task to trim it all down. We are not allowed to remove the trees/bushes, even though we probably wouldn't anyway, as the DEQ has delineated it a wetland. Our deck is actually cantilevered to prevent any intrusion into the wetlands... So many rules! Anyway, if you return in a few weeks, it should be clear viewing of our awesome river & Lake Michigan. We also in the process of getting a new roof, so you weren't able to enjoy our covered deck outside. Hopefully next time around you can fully enjoy our outdoor dining! Thanks again for the review - we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Upper Crust also viewed

Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Upper Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing