We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, simple times”
Review of Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistique
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Star Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Cedar Springs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, simple times”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We enjoyed the clean, quality room everything worked well. Simple updated colors, fairly quiet even though it's on highway 2. We walked on Lake Michigan beachfront which is accessible behind motel. Room had picture windows road & back, very nice. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    54
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
54
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Based on reviews here, we booked a night's stay at the Star Motel. A wonderful, relaxing experience. Beautiful setting with Lake Michigan right out the back window; comfy beds; quiet, spotless rooms all at an extremely reasonable rate. The owners are quick to offer recommendations for dining and help with any special requests, as well as making you fell very welcome. It brought back such fond memories of family vacations years ago when places like the Star Motel were the rule rather than the exception.
Places like this is why it's important to buy local from people who truly care about their place and their visitors---not like many of the chains out there that suck the very life blood out of the local economy that offer more but deliver much, much less.
Next time we're in the UP, you can find us at the Star.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1cutekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
251 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This has to count as one of the best buys in lodging so far over 5000 miles of travel across the US. Yes, it is an older hotel, kind of quaint in a fifties- or sixties-ish way, but updated in all the things that matter. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and spotlessly clean. The beds and linens are comfortable, the bathroom sparkling clean if not large. I like to think that we keep our own home in good order, but the Star Motel was quite simply pristine by comparison. Running the place seems like it must be a labor of love for its host, a very personable and helpful lady whom we liked right away because, seeing us on a motorcycle, she let us check in early on a rainy day.

Although the motel is a bit away from the downtown area, we found a good family-style restaurant, The Three Seasons Cafe, a short walk up the road and had a tasty meal there. Friendly place, both the wait staff and the patrons. Just wish they served beer and wine.

Before leaving the next day, we took the opportunity afforded by warm sunshine to walk along the unimproved beach behind the motel and enjoyed the views across Lake Michigan, with misty vapors rising from the water to create an ethereal vision of the shore and pines. Got some good pictures! Beautiful spot, wonderful stay, great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolDM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Passing through Michigan's UP, we had the chance to stay at the Star Motel. Walking into the place was like walking back through time--lots of the charm and decor of the '60's with prices to match. Our room was big, extremely clean, had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan out the back, and slept very comfortably. What a deal! If we ever pass that way again, we will definitely seek this motel out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Last minute stop on our way back to Wisconsin through the UP. Motel was just as described by other tripadvisor reviewers - clean, spacious, inexpensive...with a nice view of Lake Michigan out the back window. The only issue was the shower pressure and temperature control was a little off. Will definitely stay again when we are passing through.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The Star Motel is a great find! Cheap rates and beautiful views. Lots of room to stretch out in. The owner was friendly and efficient. All the comfort you could ask for on the way north! Towels are skimpy but that seems insignificant. We will stop there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We spent one night here. Our room, # 17, was big, warm, and very clean. It had large clean windows in back with a view out to Lake Michigan, which was nice. The owner lady was helpful with restaurant suggestions (3 Mile Supper Club was our choice.) After seeing some of the other motel choices in Manistique, we were pleased that we'd chosen the Star Motel (based on TA reviews).

Room Tip: All I can say is room 17 is nice and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manistique hotels
2.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Budget Host Inn Manistique
#6 of 7 in Manistique
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Manistique
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
#3 of 7 in Manistique
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Manistique
Comfort Inn Manistique
#5 of 7 in Manistique
103 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Motel

Property: Star Motel
Address: 1142 E Lakeshore Dr, East Highway US-2, Manistique, MI 49854-1691
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Manistique
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing