We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Manistique
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northshore Motel(Manistique)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scheall's Motel(Gould City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
79
55
11
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
55
11
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake michigangreat valuerooms are spaciousfree wifigreat location rightnothing fancyrecommend it to anyonewonderful staymackinac islandair conditioningnice ownerswould stay here againice machineseasons restaurantflat screen tvmoteloffice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We enjoyed the clean, quality room everything worked well. Simple updated colors, fairly quiet even though it's on highway 2. We walked on Lake Michigan beachfront which is accessible behind motel. Room had picture windows road & back, very nice. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Based on reviews here, we booked a night's stay at the Star Motel. A wonderful, relaxing experience. Beautiful setting with Lake Michigan right out the back window; comfy beds; quiet, spotless rooms all at an extremely reasonable rate. The owners are quick to offer recommendations for dining and help with any special requests, as well as making you fell very welcome. It brought back such fond memories of family vacations years ago when places like the Star Motel were the rule rather than the exception.
Places like this is why it's important to buy local from people who truly care about their place and their visitors---not like many of the chains out there that suck the very life blood out of the local economy that offer more but deliver much, much less.
Next time we're in the UP, you can find us at the Star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1cutekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This has to count as one of the best buys in lodging so far over 5000 miles of travel across the US. Yes, it is an older hotel, kind of quaint in a fifties- or sixties-ish way, but updated in all the things that matter. The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated, and spotlessly clean. The beds and linens are comfortable, the bathroom sparkling clean if not large. I like to think that we keep our own home in good order, but the Star Motel was quite simply pristine by comparison. Running the place seems like it must be a labor of love for its host, a very personable and helpful lady whom we liked right away because, seeing us on a motorcycle, she let us check in early on a rainy day.

Although the motel is a bit away from the downtown area, we found a good family-style restaurant, The Three Seasons Cafe, a short walk up the road and had a tasty meal there. Friendly place, both the wait staff and the patrons. Just wish they served beer and wine.

Before leaving the next day, we took the opportunity afforded by warm sunshine to walk along the unimproved beach behind the motel and enjoyed the views across Lake Michigan, with misty vapors rising from the water to create an ethereal vision of the shore and pines. Got some good pictures! Beautiful spot, wonderful stay, great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolDM1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Passing through Michigan's UP, we had the chance to stay at the Star Motel. Walking into the place was like walking back through time--lots of the charm and decor of the '60's with prices to match. Our room was big, extremely clean, had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan out the back, and slept very comfortably. What a deal! If we ever pass that way again, we will definitely seek this motel out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Last minute stop on our way back to Wisconsin through the UP. Motel was just as described by other tripadvisor reviewers - clean, spacious, inexpensive...with a nice view of Lake Michigan out the back window. The only issue was the shower pressure and temperature control was a little off. Will definitely stay again when we are passing through.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews