We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Manistique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Manistique
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Chicago
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Where do I start?
The 1980's plaid sofa? Not just in the room, everywhere.
No elevator?
The view of the pile of soggy discarded carpet and padding out the window?
The materials in the bathroom so cheap I have never seen them before?

Room Tip: Keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank m_b_00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis R, Manager at Comfort Inn Manistique, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
For being a small business in Michigan's Upper Peninsula with seasonal sales, we feel that we repair and upgrade our hotel to the best of our ability. In the past year we have replaced all of the carpeting in the common areas. We have replaced the TVs, ergonomic chairs, pillows and have remodelled 3/4 of our restrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    19
    16
    10
See reviews for
32
38
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Pigeon, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

A block of rooms was used here last week-end for a nieces wedding last week-end. The staff was pleasant and helpful the entire time we were there. Three parties did not show up on Friday night so the front desk person asked us to please check with them before she charged a credit card. Who does that??!! We checked and sure enough the rooms should not have been booked for Friday. A few times our family filled the breakfast room to play cards or just hang out together and I'm sure we became obnoxious but we were never treated that way. The hotel does need a little updating but was very clean. I have stayed at many other hotels in this price point and I must say this was by far the best ever. The bed was comfy and had great pillows. I would definitely recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on business. Front desk personnel were pleasant over the phone when booking and upon arrival. The room and rat of he hotel was clean. I wouldn't consider it too old or outdated, perhaps the bathrooms could use an updating but it's not a dealbreaker by any means. Breakfast was good, nice variety of cold and hot options and had a nice selection if fruits and yogurts and such. Will be back in a couple days for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MUcyclist06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight at this hotel as part of our road trip. This was our first time at a Comfort Inn and we weren't expecting too much, but in fact it was better than we thought. The hotel is situated opposite Lake Michigan and just off of the main road. There was a short wait to check in. There are no lifts and we had to carry our luggage upstairs but parking at the rear of the building made that easier. The room was average size and the bathroom small but it was all clean and tidy with a lovely view of the lake. Free popcorn was available from a machine in the lobby (this is a novelty to us Brits!), internet available, laundry, ice machine but no fridge in the room. This was available at an extra charge. The breakfast room is very small and can get crowded. Manistique is small and there are not many hotels to choose from but this one was adequate. There are not many places to eat either and some restaurants close early. The one on the main road closed at 7pm. There is a Pizza Hut nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet021065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Check in was a mess. Several maintenance problems w/ the room including a nonworking overhead light upon entering the room. Was told to change the light bulb ourselves and given a replacement bulb that was the wrong size. The problem was not the bulb, hence no lighting. Not offered another room, any options or maintenance person to remedy. WIFI inoperable that night. Very loud hunting dogs barking throughout the night and up until 7 AM. Very candid discussion of these problems w/ front desk woman yielded nothing but the resolution to never stay here again and warn others. Better lodging options are to be had on same side of road about 3/4 mile to the east. Please benefit from this mistake.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manistique hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Nice Motel facing Lake Michigan and across from the 2 mile boardwalk.
Room was very clean and pleasant. We had no microwave in the room but should have asked ahead of time. Stayed there with our dog, things went very smoothly.
Agree with other reviews, breakfast is too early - from 6-9 and the breakfast room is so small that people were waiting in line for a table. Probably only sat 15-20 people at the most.
If the Motel had been really full, it would have been a big mess to get breakfast.
Otherwise, pleasant enough and clean enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UnhappywithAtlRamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for a weekend, since other hotels were booked. Rooms, public area and everything about this hotel is outdated. Breakfast hours 6-9 for weekend are too early. Even breakfast room was full of guests having breakfast; they wind up everything at 9 without asking any one if they needed anything.

At the time of check-in we told them not to charge for safe, since we will not be using it. At the time of check out we did get charged fee for safe. Front desk did not issue credit since she did not know how to refund money.

We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manistique hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
3.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn Manistique
Budget Host Inn Manistique
#6 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
Econo Lodge Lakeshore
#3 of 7 in Manistique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Manistique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manistique

Property: Comfort Inn Manistique
Address: 617 E Lakeshore Dr, Manistique, MI 49854-1679
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Manistique
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Manistique 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Manistique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manistique Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing