We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Greek”

The Olive Greek Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Harris Park
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
sydney
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Greek”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a great night at an authentic Greek Restaurant in the West. Excellent efficient service friendly and welcoming with plenty of room between tables.

Generous dishes, fresh with the lamb and Calamari the highlight !

Greek beers and wines accompany the food extremely well and the waiters are more than happy to assist with deciphering the menu's.
Perfect for a business lunch or dinner, easy to park or access the nearby train station.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Greece in the Burbs”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place rocks - greek style

Went their as 2 couples and enjoyed it from the minute we arrived to the minute we left

The waitress - I think her name was Maria was absolutely fantastic, nothing was ever a problem and was kind enough to talk us through the whole menu and change things as 1 of us couldn't eat. Certain foods etc.

All I can say was we were so full eating the Sat banquet as that is all they serve on a fri or sat when I asked if we could order plates to share

The lamb was to die for as good as the hellenic republic in melb

Do I rate this place - hell yes and would gurantee if they weren't in Harris Park it would be better known !!!!

Only small negatives is that the wine list is a little limited and a touch expensive and it would be great to be allowed to have a choice rather.than a banquet as I don't eat a lot.

So this venue would be great to host a birthday etc

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cv4565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Whilst the food was acceptable the service was the worst I've experienced. The one waitress had such an attitude and the owner clearly wasnt interested in sorting out a bill problem we had. Definitely wont be back.

Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What they cook, they cook well”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The Olive is a mere 30 seconds walk away from Harris Park train station, and also very close to the Great Western Highway which is one of the major roads in Sydney. It is open Tuesday-Saturday* for lunch and dinner.

The restaurant only serves banquet style dishes i.e. they charge AUD $50-AUD $60 per person* and bring specific dishes to the table. For $50, you will get freshly made flat bread, four dips (my favourite is the beetroot), sausages (superb with lemon squeezed over them), Greek salad (including marinated yellow peppers), chicken skewers, and the most flavoursome and tender lamb you have ever tasted in your life. For $60, you get all this plus two seafood dishes.
There is also a comprehensive list of alcohol including a page of Greek wines, and a small dessert menu. Alcohol and dessert cost extra.

The restaurant has indoor and outdoor dining. The outdoor dining area is covered and in winter the heating is turned on. The sound system plays a blend of traditional and modern Greek music.

*This information is correct in October 2012 but may change in the future. Please refer to the restaurant’s website for their latest opening hours and prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WynonaLavota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Greek Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
 
Parramatta, Greater Sydney
Harris Park, Parramatta
 

Been to The Olive Greek Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing