We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquette Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I really wish that we had opted to spend a few dollars more and stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately, we did not have the experience of recent contributors. Maybe some rooms are in a better condition than others. For winter weekend snow machine adventures or summer fishing trips, this place may be fine but for a family it was less than appealing.
We walked into the unpleasant odour of stale cigarette smoke that did not dissipate. I had read online that this was a non-smoking facility so I was rather surprised. It seemed that the carpet and maybe even the curtains or bedspreads had not been properly cleaned.The smell was permeating and quite unpleasant (as we are non-smokers and I obviously have a discriminating sense of smell). The beds were not firm but the colourful, flowered linens were a nice touch--different than the usual white.
The vanity and bathroom seemed old and in need of a "touch up."
The security lock was broken so we put a chair against the door...just in case.
The office was not open at 0800 so we could not relay our dissatisfaction to anyone. We just dropped off the key in the box at the door.
There was a fridge and microwave which was a plus.
Another positive was its proximity to a restaurant next door that served a delicious, filling breakfast.
Other than that, it was room with decor stuck in the 80's and did not meet our standards (I expect clean and safe when I book accomodations). It is not as close to town as many other hotels and was difficult to find in the dark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

Room was very clean and the linens smelled so clean and fresh. Great place to stay if you're just looking for a clean shower and bed. Short drive to downtown Marquette. Great value, will stay here again. Bathroom had been updated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We needed a place to stay for a weekend in Marquette that would also allow us to take our dog. She's very clean and behaved nicely considering the "strange" environment we had her in. We kept her with us all the time, so she wasn't left in the room. The room was spacious and clean....sort of...the floor/carpeting seemed to need cleaning, but maybe it was because it was a room used by other pet owners? There was no foul odor, just wasn't quite as nice as I'd hoped. The rate was excellent, so I guess we gave up a little to have a good rate. It was an "ok" place conveniently located to where we had to be for the weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the motel, so it was nice a quiet. We should have asked for a couple m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed there on the night of July 4. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating. They helped us find the best location to watch fireworks, and we had a great time.
The restaurant next door was perfect for both diner and breakfast next day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This cozy place is conveniently located to everything to do in Marquette. It is well worn but spotless, quiet and efficiently family run. We stay there every Labor Day weekend and have never been disappointed. There is a family style restaurant and a bar with great pizza and tap beer within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the property are most convenient for people with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Coming from Minnesota for the 4th of July weekend. Called 2 days before to reserve two rooms for my family - the lady asked for my credit cards, and said we were all set. When we showed up at 10:10PM, the same lady at the frond desk told me that our rooms were given away because we didn't show up early enough, and she didn't have my phone # either. Gosh! She didn't tell me to show up by 10PM to hold our rooms, and she didn't ask for my contact # either. All she cared was my credit card #! It was the first time ever that my reservation was cancelled by the hotel/motel!!! We have been to other places when we arrived at the hotels at mid-night due to a delayed flight or bad weather on the road. Never have we been told that we were too late, never!

To make things even worse, it was the July 4th weekend. We literally sat in our car and dialed all the motels within 20 miles - from Munising, to Ishpeming, to Gwinn, to Chatham, etc. No Sir, we are fully booked tonight - was the only answer. We were in total despair. Marquette Motor Lodge is very disorganized, the management is unprofessional, and all they want is to make money!

BTW, we had to ask one of our friends living in Detroit, MI for help, and fortunately he was able to find a cabin house in Skandia, MI. So we just got by that night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had to unexpectedly stay in a hotel in the Marquette area, and this was the only one we could afford that had openings that night. I was a bit nervous, but it worked out great. The staff was friendly, the room was spacious, and the beds were very comfortable. We checked in at about 10pm and checked out at 11am, so we did not spend a whole lot of time there. But we were able to get good sleep - it was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Not to mention VERY affordable!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmwum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#12 of 19 in Marquette
243 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
847 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
4.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
58 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cedar Motor Inn
Cedar Motor Inn
#8 of 19 in Marquette
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquette Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquette Motor Lodge

Address: 5057 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9001
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquette Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Marquette Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing