We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very affordable ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marquette Motor Lodge
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean and very affordable ”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

When I first booked I wasn't fully sure of what to expect, but upon out arrival we had a very late check in around midnight and the desk attendant was back in his personal quarters sleeping for the night. I did have to call the number to wake him, to my surprise he was still very friendly about our late check-in . I was also surprised to find the rooms very clean. It looks as if the have been recently renovated. I had a single queen bed room. After speaking personally with the owner lady (she was very nice) I think I will be back to this one.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

An older facility, but clean, friendly, easy on the budget kind of place. They are very excepting of pets, allowing you to leave them in the room while you are away. There is a pet fee, but it is nominal. Very friendly staff, not in your face and very helpful. A mere 5 min drive from DT Marquette and easy access from road. All rooms are motel style, accessable from outside.

Room Tip: I ask for a room in the rear of the building if I bring our dog with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinthegoodlife2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After reading reviews, thought I would take a chance on this place. Was checked in by owner and he walked me to the room - nice touch. Once in the room though, I noticed a unique smell. I can't quite name what it was, but it was being masked by deodorizor. The room was clean so we decided to stay. We later figured out it was one of the mattresses/beds....didn't use that one. The room had two queen beds, but it was very small. If there were more than two people, I think it would feel very crowded. Room had frig, microwave and coffee pot. There was a large fire pit on the back of the property and the owner offered to have a bon fire that night if we were interested; we were tired and politely declined. Other than the mystery odor, the room met the requirements for an over night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easzcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I really wish that we had opted to spend a few dollars more and stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately, we did not have the experience of recent contributors. Maybe some rooms are in a better condition than others. For winter weekend snow machine adventures or summer fishing trips, this place may be fine but for a family it was less than appealing.
We walked into the unpleasant odour of stale cigarette smoke that did not dissipate. I had read online that this was a non-smoking facility so I was rather surprised. It seemed that the carpet and maybe even the curtains or bedspreads had not been properly cleaned.The smell was permeating and quite unpleasant (as we are non-smokers and I obviously have a discriminating sense of smell). The beds were not firm but the colourful, flowered linens were a nice touch--different than the usual white.
The vanity and bathroom seemed old and in need of a "touch up."
The security lock was broken so we put a chair against the door...just in case.
The office was not open at 0800 so we could not relay our dissatisfaction to anyone. We just dropped off the key in the box at the door.
There was a fridge and microwave which was a plus.
Another positive was its proximity to a restaurant next door that served a delicious, filling breakfast.
Other than that, it was room with decor stuck in the 80's and did not meet our standards (I expect clean and safe when I book accomodations). It is not as close to town as many other hotels and was difficult to find in the dark.

Room Tip: Avoid room 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Northern Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Room was very clean and the linens smelled so clean and fresh. Great place to stay if you're just looking for a clean shower and bed. Short drive to downtown Marquette. Great value, will stay here again. Bathroom had been updated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We needed a place to stay for a weekend in Marquette that would also allow us to take our dog. She's very clean and behaved nicely considering the "strange" environment we had her in. We kept her with us all the time, so she wasn't left in the room. The room was spacious and clean....sort of...the floor/carpeting seemed to need cleaning, but maybe it was because it was a room used by other pet owners? There was no foul odor, just wasn't quite as nice as I'd hoped. The rate was excellent, so I guess we gave up a little to have a good rate. It was an "ok" place conveniently located to where we had to be for the weekend.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the motel, so it was nice a quiet. We should have asked for a couple m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed there on the night of July 4. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and accommodating. They helped us find the best location to watch fireworks, and we had a great time.
The restaurant next door was perfect for both diner and breakfast next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
333 reviews
4.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
34 reviews
5.8 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquette Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquette Motor Lodge

Property: Marquette Motor Lodge
Address: 5057 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9001
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquette Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marquette Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing