We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Marquette Maritime Museum
Ranked #11 of 41 things to do in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring a guided tour of the Marquette Harbor Lighthouse and the largest collection of Fresnel lenses on the Great Lakes, the Marquette Maritime Museum provides an experience that is fun for the whole family. Learn about famous Coast Guard rescues while participating in scavenger hunts and other fun activities. Make a new memory with your family today at the Marquette Maritime Museum where history is fun!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a small museum but an interesting one. I went through the museum but was really intending on buying a replica of the Marquette Lighthouse for a cousin who loves lighthouses. Well worth the stop.

Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Manager at Marquette Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lighthouse tour"
in 21 reviews
"fresnel lenses"
in 6 reviews
"great lakes"
in 11 reviews
"edmund fitzgerald"
in 3 reviews
"ww ii"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful lighthouse"
in 2 reviews
"nice collection"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 4 reviews
"taking pictures"
in 2 reviews
"local history"
in 2 reviews
"lake superior"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 9 reviews
"shipwrecks"
in 5 reviews
"periscope"
in 5 reviews
"exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"replica"
in 2 reviews
"catwalk"
in 2 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Not the biggest museum but still awesome nonetheless. The fresnel lens and the periscope were the highlights for me at the museum. The lighthouse tour was also nice, even with the small hiccup (p.s. to the manager if he/she is reading this, i was part of the first tour on May 24 ;)

Thank chances14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Manager at Marquette Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and thanks for visiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

We loved seeing the Fresnel lenses in the Maritime museum. Especially interesting is the fact that they have the old Stannard Rock lens and how they got it. Make sure to watch the short film about acquiring the lense and Stannard Rock - it's worth it.

The lighthouse is simply lovely and the catwalk gives a great photo op. I only wish as time goes on they are able to give tours on the upper floors and other buildings. The basement floor has a nice collection of old antique boat motors (Evinrude) for you boat enthusiasts.

Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

One gets the impression that time stopped a while ago at the Maritime Museum, in that its approach to displays and explanations is, well, a little fusty... Don't get me wrong, there's interesting information tucked in here, there, and everywhere in this smallish collection. But if your family is used to glitz, it will be disappointed. People who don't mind stopping and reading lots of labels will learn a lot. Younger children will find this more interesting when they're older.

Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Manager at Marquette Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We are slowly updating exhibits. In the last month, we have added 8 video monitors to help with historical interpretation. Next season, we are planning at least two new exhibits. We hope you can visit again to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This is a museum in the making; it has already collected some really good maritime artifacts. We especially enjoyed the many fresnel lens (from old lighthouses) they had on display. I also took the lighthouse tour. It is a beautiful lighthouse on the outside and still a work in progress on the inside.

Thank SojournMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary B, Manager at Marquette Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks for visiting! We hope you come back and see our progression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marquette Maritime Museum also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Marquette Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing