We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rancho Murieta
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Hampton in Marquette was an exceedingly positive experience from the moment I booked the room until our departure.
I originally contacted them about a reservation several months in advance and told them the visit was for a special anniversary my wife and I were celebrating. I explained the room type I was looking for and they promised to do their best.
The room ended up being exactly what I asked for and the service from every employee we encountered was exceptional.
We enjoyed the easy walk to town and appreciated the suggestions from the front desk as to where to eat and drink.
My wife and I both thought they did an excellent job with breakfast and as others have mentioned the venue was outstanding.
I really appreciated the exercise room and the other guests I talked to agreed the facility was far better than most hotels offer.
I'm not sure if/when we'll ever get back to Marquette but I can assure you I know exactly where we'll stay if we do.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Marquette area.

Warm Regards,
Reed Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    99
    31
    5
    10
See reviews for
269
248
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed at the Hampton in Marquette Michigan for a family vacation. Upon arrival and throughout our stay the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel and room was very clean. The breakfast in the mornings were very good and plentiful . I especially enjoyed the 24 hour coffee , hot chocolate and yummy cookies. The hotel is right on Lake Superior. Beautiful location and walking distance to restaurants in town. I plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the Marquette area. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

At first glance, the hotel looks cold and cookie cutter. Once I was inside, there was a coziness and calm about the lobby. The location is very beautiful, sitting right at the edge of Lake Superior. The rooms were very clean and smelled fresh. A nice touch-they leave a little note on each headboard letting guests know that all linens, including the duvet cover, have been freshly laundered. The complimentary breakfast was nothing special. You could compare it to any other hotel in the country. A few hot, generic items, waffles, cereal, etc. One regret I had was not utilizing the indoor pool and hot tub. The pool is saltwater, which is always a nice change from a regular chlorinated pool. There is a lovely view from the pool room of Lake Superior. All of the staff that I encountered were very pleasant and accommodating. I do feel that the price of the rooms per night $209 for regular rooms and $249 for patio rooms, was a bit high compared to similar hotels with the same quality of service, cleanliness, all around appearance and amenities. If the hotel wasn't located right on the water, I question if the price would still be as high. All of that being said, I would recommend this hotel to others. For the most part, it was as luxurious as a hotel of it's caliber can be. That is if you can afford over $1000 for a five night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Located within easy walking distance to downtown. Rooms big and quiet. Would definitely stay there again. Right on walking path on lakefront. I need 200 characters to submit this thing. I'm doing everyone a favor and I should be able to use as few characters as I want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 953kristinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I am Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Marquette area.

Warm Regards,
Reed Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, CO
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent a week here and we were very comfortable. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The bed was very comfortable and our son said his pull out couch was great too. Their breakfast was good every morning and had a nice selection. We loved the view from the breakfast area!!! The hotel is right on the lake and near numerous good restaurants. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lmullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's nice to have a quality chain hotel in the area as an option. Its location on Lakeshore Dr. gives great access to the downtown area and some good walking options.

The room was nicely appointed and very clean, everything was in like-new condition and the staff was friendly.

Disappointments: our room location. Having made the reservation six months in advance and paying a pretty high price for Marquette, we had a lovely view of . . . an empty lot with overgrown weeds and construction trash, appeared to be the remnants of a porch or deck with white fencing. I get not everyone will score on the lake side but couldn't they at least rid the place of such an eyesore? I'm not that picky but this really disturbed me. The other disappointment was the morning free breakfast -which the morning we were there included oatmeal and dried eggs and coffee. It appeared that on a weekend morning the breakfast was kept freshly stocked.

Room Tip: Discuss your room location at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I have traveled the picturesque upper peninsula since we were teenagers (yes we have been together ever since then) and decided to stay the night at the Hamton on the shore of lake Superior. I am extreemly glad we did! We had a room overlooking the lake, on a clear night, with a full moon. The room was clean and in perfect condition being a new hotel, so we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the Marquette area. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
0.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
797 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Property: Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855-4624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing