We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new property, but expensive for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a great new property. Nice, clean, exactly what you would expect from a Hampton Inn. It is however pricey given that the location. ~$200/night for a low end/cost conscious target market hotel. With that said, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service. Again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed there for one night last week - can't begin to articulate the wonderful treatment we received from the evening desk staff - our first room unfortunately hadn't been fully cleaned yet (a simple mistake)- we went back up to the desk to advise and were very swiftly upgraded much to our delight. The room was SPECTACULAR - the view amazing and the desk clerk was just the nicest young man - truly, truly wanted our experience to be perfect and it was for every minute we were there - the pool is salt water which made our skin feel so soft! The grounds were flawless and clean - this was by far one of my top five lifetime favorite hotel experiences! It's simply the best in Marquette, just the best and the staff are what made it that way. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The view from the third floor 2-room king suite on the corner overlooking the beautiful harbor was b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

I’m Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for posting such a fantastic review. I am so glad you think we are the best! Our staff takes great pride in our hotel. We try and go above and beyond with each guest to make them feel at home. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. Thank you again we truly appreciate it!

Your Friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

As a Hilton diamond member, I'm in a lot of Hilton properties...this hotel is spotless, quiet, well positioned in town, well staffed...just top-notch. Staff was friendly and welcoming, our room was incredible with a phenomenal view, breakfast was perfect. You can't do much better than this and we'll stay again and again! Overpriced? You get what you pay for. If you want a Super 8 price, go to Super 8.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is always great when our guests share their experiences with others. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A pleasant place to stay during a trip through the Upper Peninsula. Highly recommended. We had a room on 3rd floor overlooking the bay / harbour. Super-moon August, so able to enjoy the experience. Good dining nearby { L'attitude }

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful new Hampton Inn right on Lake Superior! Spacious room with a beautiful lake view. In walking distance to downtown and a great place to ride your bike or take a run. Staff were terrific. Very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I am Reed Benton General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor for others to see. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to the Marquette area.

Warm Regards,
Reed Benton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great Views and location;we really enjoyed our stay! A very nice town, and right near the restaurants and downtown. They hotel was very clean, and quiet. We will definitely be staying here again! It can be hard to find a good hotel in the UP...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is always great when our guests share their experiences with others. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in October. Sorry about the late review. Our stay was during homecoming or parents weekend at NMU, there was an overwhelming amount of loud intoxicated people in the halls on the main floor where our room was. The night before we left for home, we got about an hour of sleep. We complained on checkout and the staff refunded us a night! With the price of the rooms, this was greatly appreciated! They had several complaints of the noise and made it right for their guests! We would stay here again...great location in downtown MQT!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoopertime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. Although I was glad to read in your review that our staff made it right, I understand that you were disappointed with the noise, I sincerely apologize for this. We are always listening to our guests and I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our hotel.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
60 reviews
2.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.6 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855-4624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range: £123 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing