We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky in the Yoop”
Review of Birchmont Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birchmont Motel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed 6 July 2013

If you are put out by peeling paint and mildew (outside) and stained carpet, rusty cabinets and a bright blue shower and commode, don't stay here. It's a seasonal, family run joint and pretty typical. The highway noise was horrible but the AC worked well and hummed just right to drown it out. The breakfast is a joke and the wifi is unreliable, but it was clean enough and we slept well. Not sure I would stay again, though.

Room Tip: All face the lake and the noisy highway. The Wifi might e better closer to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've been coming here for years and love it. Our 1 bedroom unit is very clean with TV, heat and A/C. Very good service, continental breakfast and spectacular views of Superior. We always enjoy pIcking up some fresh Whitefish and grilling it on the BBQ ... If you are into biking, there is no better place. Close to downtown, shops, eaterys and the Harbor. Thanks for the great vacation and we'll see you again next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCORE0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My children and I were pleased to be able to stay here by beautiful Lake Superior. The managers went out of their way to help us out during a tragic time in our lives. I highly recommend this!! We went skipping down the bike trail that goes in front of the hotel along the shore of the lake. GREAT place to stay with friendly people!

Room Tip: Try to get the one on the second floor with an awesome view of the lake. It will be unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

For your best value visit the econo lodge 24 7 services with kind harted staff. Its just Down the road and if you need a hug you just might get one so stay at the econo lodge. Birch Mont did have a friendly cleaning staff thats the only thing they got going for them.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonesdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchmontmotel2012, Owner at Birchmont Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry you had a bad experience with our desk clerk and their service and thank you very much for complimenting our cleaning staff. We know they are the cornerstone of our families’ business and think they are doing a fantastic job. We are pleased to announce that we have hired a larger and more experienced team to take care of our guests this summer. It is our intent for every guest to have a safe, clean and comfortable room with a personable service that can be counted on. We thank you for visiting our beautiful little city and hope you return again and stay wherever you feel most comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Good customer service is a top priority for me, and while I do agree with other reviews suggesting that the rooms were somewhat dated, the Birchmont exceeded my expectations for customer service. I was allowed to check in early, the staff was gracious in handling my and my family's requests, and I appreciated the different ways they worked to make guests feel welcome (including their diverse continental breakfast). For the price, I don't think one could find a better hotel in northern Michigan, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This motel is in such a lovely setting--surrounded by woods with a hill in back and Lake Superior across the road. And we enjoyed staying there with so many other dog lovers! It was handy to have a kitchenette and internet service. The room was a little dated, but a clean and welcoming and definitely a good bargain for the money. Marquette is a great town with a lot going for it! Our hosts provided us with a map of the city and recommended some great restaurants. I can't imagine staying in a generic chain motel on a trip to the U.P. We enjoyed our time there very much and we will definitely keep the Birchmont in mind for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glomor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a large room under the office for our family of 5. It was close to the pool, which was great, but the room was dirty and the couch smelled terrible. The staff was vacuuming the office early in the morning and woke us all up. The location is good though and some of the rooms are better than others. But the rooms I saw all had a kind of musty smell.

Room Tip: Unless the large room under the office has been renovated, I would avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FPoncherello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchmontmotel2012, Owner at Birchmont Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about our motel. We are pleased to announce that we have completely renovated the room under the office. We replaced the couch with a new sleeper sofa (so we now have three doubles and one queen bed), added a new stainless steel refrigerator, replaced the carpets and vinyl flooring, added new cabinets, and replaced the ceiling tiles throughout the suite.

In addition we have hired more staff for cleaning and made it our policy to vacuum after 11am in the office to allow our guests below to enjoy and relax in the morning.

We are sorry for your poor experience at our motel and want you to know we strive to make every customers' stay a good one.

Jill Malin
Manager/Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#11 of 19 in Marquette
240 reviews
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
843 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
351 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Lakeside
Econo Lodge Lakeside
#12 of 19 in Marquette
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchmont Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchmont Motel

Address: 2090 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9117
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birchmont Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Birchmont Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchmont Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing