We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great view, over-priced, office upstairs, no elevator.”
Review of Birchmont Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchmont Motel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
South Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, great view, over-priced, office upstairs, no elevator.”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Upon leaving at 6:30, could not get internet, Climbed stairs to office, only to find they sleep till 7:30am. Woke them up, office mgr "has no internet either". Mgr then gave me road directions, but I never found that road. The bed and linens were nice.

Room Tip: Stairs only/no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaFred25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    33
    13
    9
    5
See reviews for
34
34
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbilt, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Customer service was great, however the price of the room was NOT $56 like it states on here. It was over $100! The room was musty smelling & a little dated; could use a little remodeling with the high cost of lodging!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeVo_49795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchmontmotel2012, Owner at Birchmont Motel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. It has been a busy summer and now that it is slower I have time to respond and let you know we always value your feedback. Room renovations are on the way! Last year rooms and the exterior were painted and this year we start our remodeling. Although many of our long time returning guests do not necessarily want the modernization we have to accommodate the new-to-us travelers as well. If you are looking for a bargin I can let you know that our prices are lowest right after Labor Day and again in the spring from May to mid-June. This year the season ends October 27 and we open up again on May1.
Happy Travels,
Jill Malin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a great night at Birchmont after 4 days on the trail in Pictured Rocks. The hotel was very dog friendly and the staff were so friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this as an economical, convenient and dog friend hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerE5856ZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat rock,mi
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Nice location was able to get right on on bike trail.I got a single room with a full bed.Which was find for me .Sleep well no noise right by stairs. It was clean .It could use a update in bath room.Check - in went well lady was real nice.When I called to room nice lady.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed her for 7 nights in rooms 20 & 22 which adjoined. All rooms have a view of l
Lake Superior, which only one other hotel in Marquette can claim an "unobstructed view" The other hotel is downtown and will cost you an arm & a leg for the view. The Birchmont's hotel rates are very reasonable. The staff, Chris & Kimberly were very friendly and helpful as was the housekeeping staff. The hotel could use some updates in décor but it is very clean. The breakfast offerings were good with trays to take the food to your room to eat. They had Danish, coffee, boiled eggs, fruit, cereal cold and hot, yogurt, cream cheese for bagels or English muffins. If you enjoy walking, biking etc.. the trail along Lake Superior is great. We walked several miles each day, be carful crossing the 5 lane Hwy US 41, it is very busy. My dad complained every day about the lighting in the bathroom of room 20. Cable TV is available. The pool is clean and surrounded by a privacy fence. Water temperature was around 82, which is much warmer than Lake Superior. There is beach access to Lake Superior along the 7-8 mile trail. We would definitely stay her again. There are many gas barbeques available. Our room had a stove, microwave and fridge with cookware and plates, silverware etc..

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor could be noisy. I think we had the cavalry above us one nigh with horses i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marquette50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The lake is on the other side of the road. Marquette is such a pretty town with old brick buildings and kind of a funky vibe. The hosts are very nice and had great recommendations for sites to see and places to go in Marquette. There is a cute little pool right out front and a nice bike path across the road that is right on the shore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corniopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This motel was recommended by another hotel in the area as it was less expensive and might have rooms available. We were very pleased with the motel - good sized room, 2 beds, balcony from which to view the Lake, and very clean. In the morning, we were impressed by the care taken to have good breakfast options presented - juice, coffee/teas, eggs, toast, cereals, real milk, fresh fruit bowl, and sweet pastries. The young couple who runs the motel are friendly, helpful and treat their guests with respect and kindness. We did not have the opportunity to try out the pool, but it looked clean and well maintained. My husband and I will definitely return if our travels take us that way again.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk up outside stairs to the second floor rooms, ask for a main floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneVDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
787 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.7 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#15 of 19 in Marquette
222 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
484 reviews
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchmont Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchmont Motel

Property: Birchmont Motel
Address: 2090 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9117
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Birchmont Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Birchmont Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchmont Hotel Marquette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing