We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Unique worth the visit!”

Lakenenland Sculpture Park
Ranked #3 of 30 things to do in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Unique worth the visit!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

About 20 minutes east of Marquette is this gem. Likely will not see something like this anywhere on the continent so it is definitely worth a stop. I like that it is a walkabout - path is not paved. The creativity is impressive. Sometimes it can be buggy though. Go see this!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarquetteMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    42
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a nice experience”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I would really try to see this. It's a art park and the artist is great. You can interact with the sculptures, and it's so much fun. One of my cousins jumped on an alligator's tail and the group went wild. There were some political statements and I loved everyone of them. The artist expressed himself and you could feel he wanted to get his point accross. I highly recommend this place to everyone one, all ages. It will be here for a 100 years or more.. At the beginning or at the end is a wonderful covered shelter, with a fireplace and table. It's so well built. Of course, there is a out house and even that was great... Clean, well taken care of and NO SMELL....

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful art...property rights in action”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our family has visited Lakenenland multiple times, most recently near the end of July, and every visit brings something new to be enjoyed. The quality, quantity and creativity of each metal sculpture never fail to amaze us. Tom, the metal-worker artist who creates each piece, welcomes each visitor to walk or drive through the acres of sculptures he has installed -- donations are appreciated, but not expected. Many pieces are "hands-on" for both kids and adults (think: human-sized functioning weights and measures scale, among other things). Those pieces not made for interaction are well signed. The artist makes his political views known, but in no way insinuates you have to agree with him in order to enjoy his art (in fact, some of his political views are signed at the park entry due to historical problems with the township board in which his property lies -- thankfully the board has not been able to force him to close the park). Don't let the entrance sign dissuade you from coming in and exploring.

The Sculpture Park holds several benefits and gatherings on the property throughout the year and has a permanent stage area, as well as picnic tables under a pavilion with a large stone fireplace. The front of the park is entered via M-28. The back of the property can be accessed by snowmobile/ATV trail. The 2014 UP200 dog sled race route went right by the park!

I mentioned to my husband on our last visit that I truly hope someday, somehow, arrangements can be made to preserve Tom's art in a permanent exhibit that continues to be accessible to all who want to enjoy it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bradleybirthmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If Ron Swanson did junkyard art...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

So we didn't know quite what to expect, and my husband was leery about going, but we ended up having a blast!

You enter and read signs saying it is open 24/7 except to IRS agents, zoning officials, etc.

It was raining, but there is a drive thru option that we really enjoyed.

There is varied art that is impressive even if this really isn't your kind of thing.

Well worth the stop on the way to Munising.

Helpful?
Thank Mara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davisburg, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting park”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Fun to see the interesting sculptures! But be careful exiting out of there, make sure you make your way back to 28, we made an opps and drove down a snow mobile path with our camper in tow! Scary but survived without getting stuck;)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jroberts734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakenenland Sculpture Park also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Lakenenland Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing