We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marquette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blueberry Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Marquette B&B and Inns
South Bend
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

My husband and I were on a trip to the UP of Michigan and needed a place to stay in Marquette. A quick check on the Ipad found Blueberry Ridge Bed and Breakfast so we decided to take a chance. Daphne our hostess is a warm, friendly, and welcoming person. We were greeted with homemade cookies and punch. After talking to her for a few minutes we were shown our wonderful room. It was very bright and cheery. In the morning we were awaken by our hostess playing the piano and singing wonderful morning songs. The breakfast was very, very good. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the Marquette area again. Bill and Jan South Bend, Indiana

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDWRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland Heights
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Small (3 rooms) B&B near Marquette. Nice neighborhood. Daphne is a wonderful person and provides a tremendous breakfast. Rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I chose Blueberry Ridge after reading TripAdvisor reviews - we were in town for the Ore to Shore mountain bike race. Daphne is everything everyone says she is, and more! Imagine her as a wonderful, energetic grandma who is VERY excited and passionate about what she does! She took time to ask us questions about our trip, offered maps and explained the area for us, went out of her way to serve a DELICIOUS 3+ course breakfast early (as we needed to get to the race) and serenaded us at the piano!

If you are looking for a very private, silent bed and breakfast, this is not it. We stayed in the yellow room, and it fit our needs well (including a small private bathroom) but you are close to the other rooms, there's no lock on your door, and one can hear others moving around in the morning. It's like a staying in a bedroom at your aunt's house. We didn't mind, this was fine by us, but may not be for everyone.

I'd love to go back with a group of friends next time and sing and eat some more!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingingKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Blueberry Ridge B& B in July of this year and found the stay to be great! Daphne was an excellent host from start to finish. We stayed in the rose room, and it was really cool and unique. (I have to disagree with the woman who didn't like the carpet in this room, I thought it was great. You simply won't find anything else like it in this day and age. And besides, your going to base your review on carpet? Really?). Well, anyway. The food was also excellent. We were greeted with delicious oatmeal raisin cookies on the afternoon of are arrival, and then treated to wonderful rhubarb strawberry cake that evening for dessert. Breakfast the next morning was even better with a delicious Finnish pancake creation with blueberry compote, blueberry buckle, and a fantastic fruit salad. While my sister and I ate, Daphne played piano. I even joined in for a little sing along to some show tunes! (ok, show tunes may not be for everyone, but I loved it!).
Overall our stay was excellent, and I would happily stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gbrothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Daphne was the owner and she is quite eccentric, however, she was so accommodating. The Rose room was very nice, albeit very pink throughout the whole room. That is the only room with a private bathroom which we enjoyed. She makes the most delicious food and enjoys playing the piano for you at the conclusion of breakfast. We had a great time and would definately recommend staying there during your trip to Marquette.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncoope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This B&B was very charming and filled with such a variety of trinkets collected from around the world. Daphne, the owner, seemed a bit eccentric, perhaps, but very friendly and knowledgeable of the Upper Peninsula. The only downside of our stay there was the Rose Room. It was very spacious but had fuschia and pink flower carpeting, a blindingly pink bathroom, pink pink pink everywhere! A bit over the top. But overall, we had a very nice stay. I would visit again - even endure the pink room - just to eat the breakfast there. Her homemade blueberry french toast is the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahamas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

I was sorry to read of the other reviewers experience of uncleanliness. We were three couples and filled up all three of Daphne's bedrooms. The rooms were comfortable and clean. If one rubbed table tops or under beds with a white glove, there may have been dust, but overall, the home was lovely. She took it upon herself to be our hostess in her home and our guide for Marquette. She was helpful but not intrusive. The delicious breakfasts (all included some form of blueberry) were presented with a charming flair. The most memorable thing of our stay was having Daphne play the piano every morning as we were upstairs dressing for breakfast. Her first piece was always "Morning Has Broken" and was then followed by a medley of easy listening favorites. I had the impression, though, if we had not enthusiastically applauded her efforts, she might not have continued.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrinkBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
5.8 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 19 in Marquette
334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
5.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
484 reviews
6.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blueberry Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blueberry Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blueberry Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 193 Oakridge Dr, Marquette, MI 49855-8866
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marquette
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing