We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good experience for the price”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just spent a few days here. Small disclaimer--I didn't pay for the room, a family member booked 3 for us and two other family members over the holiday.

In any case, despite the age of the hotel, the room was clean and quiet. Staff is really friendly--they checked on the discounted fitness center fee across the road (Anytime Fitness--also very nice!). This isn't a typical chain like Marriott--I felt better treated here than at most Marriott's I've been too (not that they were bad--just very "corporate").

The continental breakfast is adequate, but nothing special. Hot cocoa would be a good addition to the offerings. The location is great for Marquette-area activities.

The bed was about as good as you get anywhere, which in my case means it was a bit soft and uncomfortable, but I know most people don't like a 'firm' mattress.

TV reception was excellent--I stayed at a Hilton in Philly earlier in the year and didn't have half as good reception!

Pool was closed due to a broken heater. The hot tub worked--but the switch to turn it on is in the reception area--a little inconvenient. Management might want to look into changing that.

My one suggestion and it's a big one (and why I'm giving only 3 stars) --the hotel really needs to update the facility somehow. Even a fresh coat of paint would be better than nothing. Like I said, the room was clean--but walls have been chipped and it's peeling around the shower area. Also, the sink outside of the toilet/shower area is a little odd (in our room anyhow), but not a huge deal.It would be more convenient to have the sink in the rest of the bathroom area.

I think this place has changed owners/names a few times over the past several years. It would be really great if the corporate office or owner could find the money to really put some updated touches toward it. Maybe a warmer neutral tone on the walls would heIp.

Also, I didn't see that there are either smoke alarms in the rooms or sprinklers--not sure what the law is on that. I know it's common or required in newer facilities.

Overall, it's fine--at best, you'll have a friendly staff and a quiet and clean as it can be currently place to stay. At worst--chipped walls and just an overall "drab" feel to it.

Room Tip: Grocery store across the road, also a McDonalds and Togos Sub Shop (a local joint--really great subs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    60
    56
    24
    27
See reviews for
98
52
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Upper Peninsula, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

From the time I called to book my stay until our request for a late checkout, the staff was friendly and accommadating. I have a larger family and we were welcomed with open arms. We will be staying a this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momotwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

drove to the UP and encountered a sudden snow/sleat storm. Needed a place to settle in for the night.
Found this place and it was allright for the price. Nothing fancy, but the room was large and the rate was very inexpensive, considering it was 'deer season.'

Pool was great and the continental bkfst more that adequate.

Would stay here again. Very nice for a budget inn.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the inn are quieter... away from the traffic light and road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 42b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvimarquette, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn. The owners and staff value your how you feel about our hotel because we work hard to provide each guest with an experience that combines genuine value with hospitality. We do hope to see you again if you are traveling to the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I don't know why travelers have such high expectations of a motel! It is not the motel's fault if someone is awake when you want to go to bed. The motel staff cannot determine whether you want a soft or a hard bed and then move the right bed in for you. For $50 a night, you cannot expect the accommodations to be 5-star! This was an inexpensive motel with very nice people that was clean and had more of the amenities than you would expect -- indoor pool, hot tub, breakfast with waffles and cereal and juice for free, large televisions, free wi-fi. Our room was huge, and our bathroom was tiny, but the sink is outside the bathroom, so there was plenty of room. The furniture might have been a little out of date, but it was in good shape and clean. We had a little fridge and microwave, a desk and a table and we were very comfortable. We had a great time!

Only a few complaints so that maybe the owners can make adjustments -- there was no coke machine (only Pepsi), and that wouldn't take dollar bills, so I had to go out and get a cola. There were no donuts or bagels on the breakfast bar (only raisin bread), and that would have been a nice addition for a low cost. Also, although I didn't use the hot tub, my girls said the water was too hot for comfort.

Thank you for making our stay comfortable!

Room Tip: Instead of two queen beds, think of choosing the one with two full beds and a twin, like we did. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czechmrk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had recently stayed at the America's Best Value Inn while attending a few conferences in the UP and surrounding areas. The hotel room and staff was great and the price was more than affordable for the accommodations given. It was in an area which was conveniently placed around useful stores and shops for ones traveling needs. Accidentally, I had left my laptop charger at the hotel and was worried I would have to purchase another. After calling the hotel to try to recover it the woman on the phone asked me to hold while she looked.. She was able to find it and put it in the mail the very next day! Sure enough I had it in the mail a few days later and could not be happier with my experience with this hotel. The staff was wonderful and has definitely earned my future business anytime I head to the Marquette area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed for two nights, clean rooms, friendly staff,pool and hottub were great!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawler808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I booked this hotel through Priceline and it came out to $46 after tax for one night. I pulled into the parking lot and was hesitant to even check in as the grounds are not maintained, whatsoever! After reminding myself that the $46 was not refundable, I decided to checkin. The lady that checked me in was extremely friendly. She is the reason I gave it two starts instead of one. She gave me room 120 - which is by the vending machines, and is the closest to the front office.

The room was ok. Some dust left in corners, on microwave, etc. The beds were a little too hard. One comforter had a red stain on it - not blood, but probably ketchup or soda. The internet worked fine. I could of overlooked these things.

I fall asleep very easily and don't complain about too many noises. But after returning to my room at about 9:00pm, I noticed a banging coming from the ceiling every 30-45 seconds. It sounded as if someone was stomping on the floor. I wrote it off as hot water pipes, or something along those lines causing it. It was very noticeable, and would've kept me up, but I was hoping it would soon stop. Then at about 11:00p I started hearing (presumably intoxicated) women yelling, screaming, and running down the halls. I assume they were going back and forth to the pool area that was supposed to be closed at 10:00p. So I laid in bed staring at the ceiling trying to figure out whether to leave or not. My solution was to turn the a/c on to drown out the random pipes banging, and the females running. I was finally able to fall asleep at about 2:30 in the morning, once the screaming subsided, and I was exhausted so much that the pipes banging were able to be drowned out by the a/c. I awoke in the morning, absolutely freezing - but I was able to get 4.5 hours of sleep I guess.

Never again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
805 reviews
6.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Marquette
Holiday Inn Marquette
#10 of 19 in Marquette
291 reviews
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
5.2 mi away
Settle Inn Marquette
Settle Inn Marquette
#11 of 19 in Marquette
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1010 State Highway M28 E, Marquette, MI 49855-9092
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 4 miles from Marquette at the intersection of two major highways; offer a deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and spa. We are now featuring Intentional Healing Massage Therapy on site as well as indoor tanning. Ojibwa Casino is only 4 miles from us and they offer shuttle service to and from. We also have a casino package for our guests. We are right on the snowmobile trail also, trail 417. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Marquette
Travel Lodge Marquette
Travelodge Marquette
Americas Best Value Inn Marquette
Marquette Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing