We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for 3 dogs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
238 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great value for 3 dogs!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not many hotels will accept 3 dogs at such a reasonable price! Yes, this hotel may appear run down...but our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and everyone who worked there was courteous and pleasant.

I also wanted to add how accommodating check-in was when we found out the efficiency suite was on the second floor and would be too difficult for our senior Lab. They changed our room and refunded the difference without any hesitation.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    55
    53
    22
    27
See reviews for
93
48
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New London, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When I first pulled up to the hotel, I thought about cancelling my reservation and booking somewhere else. It just looks kind of dumpy and run down. The staff was very nice and the office area was a little more upscale looking, so I had hope that my room wouldn't be that bad. The room turned out to be "ok" but as others have said, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything going on in rooms around you. The television was getting on ancient side, the bathroom should be remodeled as it was kind of grungy and dirty and the bed was a very basic bed. Just a bottom of the barrel mattress and pillows. Nothing that hinted at comfort or luxury. Maybe I shouldn't expect that for $80 a night, but other hotel chains manage to give you a comfortable bed at those prices.
The room service was substandard as well. I left out for the day at about 10 am and came back at about 7pm and my room hadn't been cleaned. The wifi was unreliable. Sometimes it worked pretty well...other times it seemed like a death crawl and I hated that it would sign me out if my phone or tablet went to sleep.
Overall, I was not very pleased. I'm a very unassuming traveler and I don't require to be pampered, but I do expect a clean, comfortable room that has good wi-fi and gets turn down service every day. None of those things were met on my visit. Marquette is very beautiful and I will be returning to the area again. I will not be staying at this motel and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Gwinn, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. Although it is an older hotel it is kept very clean. The staff was super both stays. This hotel far exceeded my expectations for an economy hotel. A good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottSt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontonagon, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

the pool was stinky.... and the room u could hear everything in it... it sucked... big time! it was very dingy in the pool and smelled like rotten wood looked up and there was mold all on the roof of the ceiling... I did not like it at all. breakfast was okay I had a waffle and some oj

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Those poor reviews must have been old....the place is clean....close to shops and hwy. has a clean pool and hottub....big firm bed....micro and fridge..... and every other hotel near Marquette was 55 to 100 dollars..these guys were $49 (March 2014)....SCORE......

keep it quiet :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Here stayed with our ski group on March 8th. we have stayed here before and never had a problem likewise the same this time. I wonder where all of the negative comments come. I'm beginning to wonder if they're from rival hotels. for us it was the usual stay, clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. its a good value for a fraction of the price of the pricey hotels. Will be staying again in 2 weeks with my family.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I'm not one to write reviews, but I was compelled to warn anyone who is thinking of staying here. Okay, first of all, the girl at the front desk was very nice. Thats the only good thing I've got to say. You get what you pay for in terms of the out-dated hotel. My husband and I stayed here with our two young daughters. When we went to the pool it was freezing. Our kids were shivering and we couldn't stay more than 20 minutes. And there was a hose going into the hot tub which was strange. But that was not the worst part of our stay. Our room was dirty. There were empty soap wrappers still in the bathroom. When I went to give my girls a bath, I turned on the jets in the tub, and CLUMPS OF HAIR came out of each jet. It was disgusting! Other peoples "HAIR" floating in your child's tub! Yuck!! After that, we tried to go to sleep. Unfortunately the walls are paper thin. The room next to us was a suite with a bunch of kids. They were pounding around all evening. I tried calling the front desk twice, no answer. I went down there, nobody there. By this point it's 12:30 a.m. And I finally had to ask the adults in the room next door to keep it down. I should have asked for a refund. Awful experience and I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
4.7 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#6 of 19 in Marquette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#8 of 19 in Marquette
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 1010 State Highway M28 E, Marquette, MI 49855-9092
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 4 miles from Marquette at the intersection of two major highways; offer a deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and spa. We are now featuring Intentional Healing Massage Therapy on site as well as indoor tanning. Ojibwa Casino is only 4 miles from us and they offer shuttle service to and from. We also have a casino package for our guests. We are right on the snowmobile trail also, trail 417. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Marquette
Travel Lodge Marquette
Travelodge Marquette
Americas Best Value Inn Marquette
Marquette Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing