We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Where to start? How about Jayme the hotel manager. She is AWESOME! The day I made my reservations, Jayme was very helpful in finding a room that would work for us. When I had to call back with changes, she took the time to get us set up in rooms that again worked well. We came into town, 4 women, on our motorcyles. We had to drive 100 miles in nasty rain and 54 degree weather. As you could guess, we were wet. Jayme bent over backwards to help us out. 1st, she offered to put our wet clothes in their hotel dryer. She then gave us advice on a number of places to go for a good meal after a long day. The next day was rain too. We couldn't ride our bikes, so Jayme talked to the hotel owners mom and she gave us a ride into town so we could do some shopping. She also gave us numbers for cab service and told us how the Metro bus worked incase we wanted to use those. It was just SO nice to have someone help us out on what could have been a very bad vacation. Jayme made it better. As for the hotel, I thought it was very nice. The beds are super soft and comfy. The rooms were very clean. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but the area looked very nice and clean as well. Breakfast was nice. Waffles, a variety of toasts, sweet rolls, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, coffee, juice, and milk. The breakfast room is small when it is "peak" breakfast time, but no big deal. All in all, our stay was very good and I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks Jayme!!

Room Tip: There is not an elevator, so if you can't do steps, request 1st floor. I didn't see the opti...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Not many hotels will accept 3 dogs at such a reasonable price! Yes, this hotel may appear run down...but our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and everyone who worked there was courteous and pleasant.

I also wanted to add how accommodating check-in was when we found out the efficiency suite was on the second floor and would be too difficult for our senior Lab. They changed our room and refunded the difference without any hesitation.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When I first pulled up to the hotel, I thought about cancelling my reservation and booking somewhere else. It just looks kind of dumpy and run down. The staff was very nice and the office area was a little more upscale looking, so I had hope that my room wouldn't be that bad. The room turned out to be "ok" but as others have said, the walls are very thin and you can hear everything going on in rooms around you. The television was getting on ancient side, the bathroom should be remodeled as it was kind of grungy and dirty and the bed was a very basic bed. Just a bottom of the barrel mattress and pillows. Nothing that hinted at comfort or luxury. Maybe I shouldn't expect that for $80 a night, but other hotel chains manage to give you a comfortable bed at those prices.
The room service was substandard as well. I left out for the day at about 10 am and came back at about 7pm and my room hadn't been cleaned. The wifi was unreliable. Sometimes it worked pretty well...other times it seemed like a death crawl and I hated that it would sign me out if my phone or tablet went to sleep.
Overall, I was not very pleased. I'm a very unassuming traveler and I don't require to be pampered, but I do expect a clean, comfortable room that has good wi-fi and gets turn down service every day. None of those things were met on my visit. Marquette is very beautiful and I will be returning to the area again. I will not be staying at this motel and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now. Although it is an older hotel it is kept very clean. The staff was super both stays. This hotel far exceeded my expectations for an economy hotel. A good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottSt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

the pool was stinky.... and the room u could hear everything in it... it sucked... big time! it was very dingy in the pool and smelled like rotten wood looked up and there was mold all on the roof of the ceiling... I did not like it at all. breakfast was okay I had a waffle and some oj

Room Tip: don't stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Those poor reviews must have been old....the place is clean....close to shops and hwy. has a clean pool and hottub....big firm bed....micro and fridge..... and every other hotel near Marquette was 55 to 100 dollars..these guys were $49 (March 2014)....SCORE......

keep it quiet :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Here stayed with our ski group on March 8th. we have stayed here before and never had a problem likewise the same this time. I wonder where all of the negative comments come. I'm beginning to wonder if they're from rival hotels. for us it was the usual stay, clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff. its a good value for a fraction of the price of the pricey hotels. Will be staying again in 2 weeks with my family.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
828 reviews
6.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn Marquette
Settle Inn Marquette
#11 of 19 in Marquette
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marquette Motor Lodge
Marquette Motor Lodge
#16 of 19 in Marquette
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1010 State Highway M28 E, Marquette, MI 49855-9092
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: £36 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 4 miles from Marquette at the intersection of two major highways; offer a deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool and spa. We are now featuring Intentional Healing Massage Therapy on site as well as indoor tanning. Ojibwa Casino is only 4 miles from us and they offer shuttle service to and from. We also have a casino package for our guests. We are right on the snowmobile trail also, trail 417. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Marquette
Travel Lodge Marquette
Travelodge Marquette
Americas Best Value Inn Marquette
Marquette Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing