We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Marquette
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were there for a wedding and I checked prices before we found out there was a special price for wedding guests. I thought they were a little high for the location. The hotel was very crowded being a weekend in the summer, but the housekeeping staff were working constantly to clean the rooms. We had one minor problem. Apparently housekeeping thought we didn't want service one day. We came back from the wedding at about 3pm to get ready for the reception to find a note saying they were honoring our request for no service. After I went to the front desk to complain, I was amazed how quickly housekeeping arrived.
All the staff were extremely helpful and eager to help, especially in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank harmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize regarding the confusion of our staff thinking you did not want cleaning service. I am very happy that once you brought this to the attention of our staff that it did get corrected. I hope that should you find yourself in Marquette that you will once again stay at our hotel. Warm Regards, Ann Armstrong, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Older hotel that can handle large events and travelers. On the main road but quiet. We were there twice in 10 days and different rooms were consistent. Both sides views were OK. One morning we were able to visit the restaurant for breakfast ( not included ) and found the view of the garden absolutely stunning. Flowers and wildlife and the food was good also. Service attentive and prompt. Second night was to stage for an early flight. Desk staff concerned and informative &gave us appropriate wake up.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of the Holiday Inn of Marquette Michigan. I agree that the views of our spectacular courtyard makes the dining experience that much more memorable. I hope that we will see you on your return visit to our area. Sincerely, Ann Armstrong Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on an extended weekend, and I was very pleased with this hotel. Yes, the hotel has been recently renovated, and the updates are great! We had two adjourning rooms, and were very pleased with the very clean rooms and bathrooms. Each room has a large mini fridge, so we stocked milk, drinks and yogurt for breakfast in the room. We kept in a gallon of milk, no problem, and had plenty of room for other things. Our boys loved the pool, and it had a great, large whirlpool too. The lobby and the check in staff were excellent. I asked many questions regarding how to get to Sugarloaf Mountain, where the children's museum was and restaurants, and the front desk staff helped me patiently.
For families with children, the two adjourning rooms was a godsend to have some privacy for the parents and two showers to clean up after being on the beach. The hotel does not reserve these ahead of time, but they were able to accommodate our request. We were on the fifth floor and other than hearing people walk down the hall, we did not hear any noise below us. The pool is on the main level without rooms around it, so pool noise was nonexistent. I would definitely return back to this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkWaupun_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn of Marquette Michigan. Our entire staff works very hard to provide each guest with the best in amenities and service. I will be sure to pass your comments along to our entire staff. Much thanks!! Sincerely, Ann Armstrong Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Got the last room on a busy summer weekend in Marquette. I was surprised at how dark the hallways were and how old the carpet was on the hallways. The architect who designed these rooms must be dead now. They are so retro. Rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. I would've thought we've gotten more for the $200 for the room. The joke was that you had to go to the bar if you have a bottle of wine to be opened. No one at the front desk would lend you a wine opener.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Badshot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that the hotel did not meet your standards. I was a little surprised that you thought the hallways were dark. At the end of 2012 we finalized a multi million dollar renovation which included hallway vinyl, lights, and carpeting. I am always interested in the thoughts of our guests. If you would like to contact me, I have a few questions, that I am interested in asking. If you would be so kind, I can be reached at 906-315-4224. Much thanks. Ann Armstrong Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for a night since Hampton Inn where we generally stay on travel was much too expensive. The building looks old from outside. The inside is OK. The room was fine since the hotel seems to be renovated, not too fancy but ok.

The staff was really friendly at the front desk. I requested a firm pillow, they sent them but they weren't really firm. They had a letter in the room asking to give them 10 when we get a survey. To me that's a little pushy. I will give you a 10, if I was happy.

Breakfast wasn't included. These days, everyone includes breakfast. There are not too many choices in Marquette so this is not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide such valuable information. I will pass along your comments to our management team and I will certainly let the staff know that you acknowledged their friendliness. Sincerely, Ann Armstrong Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have a history of staying at this Holiday Inn when traveling thru Marquette, because for a long time they were the only hotel in town who would accommodate dogs. Even though we did not have a pet on this trip, we chose the Holiday Inn and were not disappointed with the accommodations in our room. It seems like cleanliness only comes with the new or updated hotels, but we were pleasantly surprised with the condition of our room, which was also very comfortable. I do not recommend the restaurant as I found the food to be expensive and not very fresh. Marquette has a lot of great restaurants, and I will chose one of them for breakfast on our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay. Our guests are very important to us, and we take each posting very seriously. I would like to speak with you regarding your dining experience. If you could please contact me at 906-315-4224 it would be greatly appreciated. Our goal is exceed our guests expectations. I apologize that we fell short in the dining area. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Ann Armstrong, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We ended up at the Holiday Inn via an opaque travel site. While I think we got a fine price, the restaurant was expensive at breakfast time and didn't really fit in with the Marquette market.

The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and updated (this is an older hotel). It was slightly above average. If I had paid the $140 that was available directly at the time, I'd be less likely to rate it a 4/5. Keep that in mind when booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann A, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Marquette, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn of Marquette Michigan. Our owners are always looking for ways to improve on the guest experience by keeping the hotel fresh and up to date. I am sorry that you felt the dining room was pricey. We take extra care to shop our local competitors to ensure that our pricing is comparable to theirs. I hope that when you are back in Marquette you will once again choose to stay with us. We appreciate your feedback! Warm Regards, Ann Armstrong Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 19 in Marquette
515 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Marquette, MI
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
1.4 mi away
Ramada Marquette
Ramada Marquette
#9 of 19 in Marquette
841 reviews
1.8 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Marquette

Address: 1951 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-3119
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range: £82 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Marquette 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Marquette for business or just for fun, you will find all that you need at the full service Holiday Inn. We pride ourselves in exceeding your expectations by going the extra mile for each guest, treating you like a valued friend, and being ready when you need us. Your home away from home is located within minutes from some of the area s most popular attractions including: Northern Michigan University Marquette General Health Systems Superior Dome Berry Events Center Lakeview Arena Shimmering Lake Superior Nationally recognized Greywalls Golf Course For business or pleasure We can help make your day. Enjoy a swim in our crystal clear indoor pool; the largest in the area, or relax in our over-sized whirlpool. Our family, friendly pool area has the space needed to accommodate all of our hotel guests. Don t miss a workout just because you are away from home. Take advantage of our on site fitness center conveniently located near the pool area. Polish that presentation at the business center or print off your boarding passes in our well equipped business center. Whatever brings you to Marquette, the Queen City of the U.P., we are here for you. We are the Holiday Inn of Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Marquette Hotel Marquette
Marquette Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing