We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dance Recital Weekend”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I live about 45 minutes from Marquette and ordinarily would not need a hotel in town but, it was my daughter's recital weekend and with 5 rehearsals and 2 shows scheduled in a 3 day span I thought it would be a good idea. We choose the Comfort Suites for the size of the rooms and the reviews. We had a wonderful stay. The front desk was extremely accommodating allowing us to check-in early and check out late on Sunday. The continental breakfast was fresh and well stocked and all three of my children loved the pool. Next year for recital weekend we will definitely stay again because I will have two dancers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on our staff and facility. I'm happy to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We've also received a lot of positive comments on our re-decorated pool area, featuring floor to ceiling murals of Marquette, Lake Superior and the surrounding area. We'll be happy to work with you on your stay next year, or any other time if you need a quick getaway.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

We were able to walk to,restaurants and shopping.
Popcorn in the room was a nice touch.
Very good hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. After enjoying our "Your Morning Breakfast", I'm glad to see that you were able to take advantage of the two great restaurants right in our parking lot. Both Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar and Perkins Restaurant & Bakery offer, besides their great daily specials, a 10% discount to all of our guests at the Comfort Suites. They also offer room service during operating hours. We hope to see you again sson.

Brian Jensen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My sister, parents, and I stayed here from June 8th-9th. We were very pleased. It is a homey, quiet hotel conveniently located on 41 West. Close to major restaurants and stores.

The check-in clerk was very polite and efficient. Our room was very nice--spacious and clean-- and backed up into some woods, which provided some privacy but also a pleasant view. It is next door to a 50s-themed restaurant, and if you present room card, you will receive 10% off your check.

A continental breakfast was served. They offer homemade waffles, which I love, but the timer for the waffle maker was set to only 2 minutes (it should be set at around 2:30, based on seeing this used at other hotels), so the waffle was undercooked, and everyone in my party felt the same way when they tried theirs. Otherwise, the food was generally good, and the seating area was spacious.

Overall, we were all pleasantly surprised by our stay. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the Marquette area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Besides being proud of the fact that you commented on our staff friendliness and hotel cleanliness, we're happy that you pointed out that we have not one, but two terrific restaurants right in our lot. All of our guests receive a 10% discount at both our Hudson's Classic Grill & Bar and our Perkins Restaurant & Bakery. Both restaurants deliver to the hotel during business hours, with no delivery charges. Thanks again for your recommendation - we hope that we can serve you again some day.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We considered several hotels for our 3 day day visit to Marquette. After reading the reviews we chose Comfort Suites. We were VERY pleased with our choice. They gave us a discount for having a student at NMU, which I greatly appreciated. The hotel was beautiful and very quiet. We enjoyed the pool and exercise room and the daily breakfast. We will be staying here EVERY time we visit Marquette. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeDeeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. It's always great to see families of NMU students joining us - we've been seeing some families with multiple students for as long as 10 years, and they begin to feel like a part of our family. As I've mentioned before, we have some great frequent stayer programs for families of students, as well as our terrific Choice Privileges program for guests of all Choice hotels. We hope to see you regularly in the upcoming years!

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I picked this hotel on the fly at the end of a very long day driving, and I was not disappointed. It looked nice from the outside. The inside was just as good. The staff from the beginning was very helpful. The location is good because there are several restaurants nearby, and stores if shopping is needed. The room was large and very clean. There was also a very good selection of channels on the TV. The continental breakfast was good. The internet was even above average. The only knock on the place is that it is a little on the pricy side. That being said, it was worth it. If I'm in the area again, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the property have a very nice, wooded view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbobKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor. I'm happy that we were able to impress you on your first stay. We've invested a lot of time and energy into keeping a great appearance, and also into the amenities we offer our guests. Our 37" LCD TV's offer 48 channels, with all of the favorites in HD, along with 5 Showtime channels. We also recently invested in the fastest internet offered in hotels in the area, with 20 mbps upload and download speeds. We hope to get the opportunity to serve you again.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Comfort Suites in Marquette is located along a strip of restaurants and hotels. Location is good, the buidling is a relatively new building, with adequate parking. The rooms were spacious, sleeping comfortable, and even though we were near the elevator, quiet. Breakfast was average, wi-fi worked well. We didn't use the pool. My only quible is that it is a bit pricey compared to other places with similar rooms and breakfast. We enjoyed the stay and would stay again, even with the higher price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for posting your thoughts on our facility with others on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We feel that we offer a great value for your money here at the Comfort Suites and prices are designed to remain competitive with other hotels in our market. This summer we are offering some great money-saving packages, as well. Golf at Michigan's #2 rated golf course, Greywalls, or you can save on the new Marquette Harbor Cruises. We hope you are able to take advantage of these great offers on your return.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Front desk staff was top notch! Upon arrival both front desk employees were extremely polite and had me checked in super fast. Gave me a quick run down of the facility and about the restaurant next door. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was well stocked and had good selection of continental type items. The hotel grounds were clean and appeared to be well maintained. Easy in, easy out. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Hembrough1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesGM74, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for posting your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We take a great deal of pride in the responsiveness and friendliness of our entire staff. I'm glad that we were able to impress you enough to share your feelings with others. We hope to serve you again soon.

Brian Jensen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 19 in Marquette
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Marquette
Staybridge Suites Marquette
#7 of 19 in Marquette
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Marquette, MI
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#4 of 19 in Marquette
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2463 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marquette
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#1 Green Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range: £83 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Platinum Award Winning Comfort Suites hotel is located just three miles from Lake Superior and Northern Michigan University. Popular points of interest close to this Marquette, MI hotel include Marquette Mountain, Presque Isle Park, the Superior Dome sports facility, the Berry Events Center, Marquette General Hospital, and the Sawyer International Airport. Some of Michigan's best skiing, snowmobiling and golfing are minutes from our hotel. There are snowmobile trails nearby, connecting to more than two thousand miles of trails throughout the Upper Peninsula area. Beautiful downtown Marquette, several shops, many museums and a wide variety of restaurants are also close to the hotel. Hudson's Classic Bar and Grill is right next door. All hotel guests receive a ten percent discount. Guests of this Marquette, MI hotel will enjoy amenities and features like: •Free hot breakfast•Free high-speed Internet access with 100 mbps upload and download speeds•24 hour exercise room•Indoor heated pool, sauna, and hot tub. The on-site meeting facilities accommodate up to 75 people for most events and business functions with catering services available. Business travelers will also appreciate the free 24 hour business center and access to fax and copy services. A ski waxing room, a gift shop and laundry facilities are located on the property for your added convenience. Our all-suite hotel features 37" LCD TVs with all HD DirecTV with 6 free Showtime channels, sofabeds, microwaves and refrigerators in all suites. Ask about our whirlpool suites and executive suites for that special occasion. Whether in the Upper Peninsula's largest city for recreation, relaxation or business, the Comfort Suites hotel in Marquette, MI is a cut above the rest. We offer the finest accommodations in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marquette
Comfort Suites Marquette
Marquette Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing