We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wait”
Review of Chinn-Chinn

Chinn-Chinn
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Mattawan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
206 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Most delicious Chinese that I have ever had. Every menu item that I have ever tried is great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    24
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh food, innovative Chinese bistro”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This restaurant is definitely a keeper. We had lunch there again today, and I was reminded of how outstanding it is. Their menu is innovative--definitely not your fortune cookie-cutter Chinese restaurant. url: http://www.chinnchinn.com/

The menu includes your choice of meat/protein, such as chicken, beef, shrimp, tofu. You then choose the recipe (family recipes, I believe) for the meat; today my wife had the Kung Pao (and I had the Peking. We've had almost every recipe, and you can't go wrong, though I like the Kung Pao and the Hibachi Grill best. Round out your order with one of their side dishes. Their won-ton soup is the best I've had anywhere; made with a beef base, it is has two large wontons, and fresh veggies such as mushroom slices (NOT slivers), chunks of zucchini, and green onions. Instead of your typical fried noodles and duck sauce, they have light fried chippy-things with a highly addictive chili-citrus dipping sauce.

The atmosphere is casual, with lunch typically ranging from suits to shorts.

Fresh local produce, friendly service, innovative choices, and unique recipes make this a great choice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterw389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Possibly the best Asian restaurant in Michigan”
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Whenever I'm in the Kalamazoo/Mattawan area, Chinn Chinn is a must stop. Expect a wait but it is worth it. Also their take out is by time so I'll often call the afternoon of my trip through that area later that evening in order to be sure my time is available. Their Mongolian Beef and Mushu are both favorite dishes. For anyone from Kzoo that enjoyed the now closed Peking Palace, this is the same family and many of the same flavors.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c313l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Little Jewel Near I-96”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The place is doing a brisk business and we had to wait for a table about 15 minutes on a Sunday afternoon. We were vegetarians and they were happy to accommodate us. Our friends had Chow Mein with soft noodles and said there food was excellent. We had fried rice chock full of fresh vegetables, many more than usual Chinese Restaurants. I had the bean curd and vegetables. Sauce was excellent. Everything was served in a large white bowl. We had little appetizers, fried wonton skins and sauce for dipping. They also brought us little bowls of fresh cut pineapple. It is a busy, crowded cafe with TV's on the wall with peaceful scenes like fish or a crackling fire. Our waitress was very accommodating and even shook all our hands when she was done. We had many left overs and enjoyed them the next day.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in SW MI”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

Drove 40 minutes to eat at chinn chinn. Space is small, waited about 20 minutes for a table. Bar right at the door when you walk in which is nice if you have to wait. Food was very good, better than any other Chinese food we have eaten at in SW MI. Service was also fast once seated. Ordered to go as well because food was so good. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinn-Chinn also viewed

 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
 

Been to Chinn-Chinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing