We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't go wrong here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chinn-Chinn

Chinn-Chinn
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Mattawan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been here twice. You can't go wrong here even if you're cool on Asian food. The long lines testify as to the superior food that comes out of that kitchen. When we go back we'll plan our day to arrive in the middle of the afternoon or very late in the evening to avoid the lines. If you have to wait you can go next door to the sports bar for a beer or wine and they will call you on your cell phone. If you're looking for dim lighting and dark paneled walls you won't find it here but once you taste the food it won't matter. You,ll still impress your date. Just go and judge for yourself. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    24
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All time best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Best Asian food ever! Every time we go I am always impressed with taste and quantities of food for the price! This is gourmet Asian food in generous portions tucked away in the tiny village of Mattawan.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We seriously LOVE Chinn Chinn's. We've gone several times and yes, sometimes we have had long wait times but the food is always top notch and the wait staff is great as well. They accommodate families with children and always interact with our kids when we're there. It's our favorite restaurant in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank venus1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow. So-o good!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend. Had never heard of it. We live two hours from it. At 7:00 on a Saturday night we had to wait about half an hour, maybe forty-five minutes, to be seated.

I'm not sure which was better: the service or the food. Very personable and knowledgeable waiter - which helped with our dietary needs/wants. The decor is nothing to get excited about, but, really when we were enjoying our food we could not have cared.

We have already told another person, who does live in that area, to give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WantsAnUpgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Michigan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“May Be Best Food Anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

...and the service is wonderful.
Loved the Bean Curd and also the vegetable Medley. We started with fantastic spring rolls. Friends had the Kung Pao Beef and was thrilled.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MassimoLido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinn-Chinn also viewed

 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Mattawan, Van Buren County
 

Been to Chinn-Chinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing