We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with Lots of Extras”
Review of Pine Bluff Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMillan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Bluff Resort
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Pine Bluff is a beautiful resort that has lots of activites for kids as well as adults. The pools are always clean and inviting. My son enjoyed the sand volleyball court and basketball court! The staff is friendly and helpful and the grounds are immaculate. We have been to the resort twice and can't wait to head up there again next year. The 10 hour drive is pretty daunting until you realize what is at the end (a week of relaxation and beauty)!

Room Tip: Both sets of cabins are nice. The Pine Bluff side are a little more open but the Cedar Ridge side h...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljsorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah H, Marketing Director at Pine Bluff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to connecting with your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Pine Bluff Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

We arrived at Pine Bluff with great expectations of being able to spend a week in a lodge that was advertised to be nice, clean and great customer service. Unfortunately we found the opposite to be true. We arrived late (around 8:15pm) and found the office to be closed for the night. No instructions were available on how to contact staff if arrived late. We found the cabin to be “nice” but not kept up. In other words, clusters of dust, hair on the toilet, food build up in the kitchen and mold in the shower. When we complained about the mold they agreed that this needed to be taken care of but never returned to do so. They refused to offer a refund when even after we told them that we cannot allow our children to use the bathroom because of the mold. We ended up leaving early due to the unacceptable condition of the cabin. I find it hard to believe that the owners of the resort would allow their children to stay in a cabin that has mold. I would not recommend this place to a family who has the expectation that the cabin should be clean and sanitary when you spend a week at a "resort"

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Katie9676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

We are extremely sorry that you had such a bad experience at our resort. The issues you mentioned have been addressed by our staff and taken care of. In the past the resort was owned by two separate parties; we are now merged under the new ownership and management of Pine Bluff Resort. We are working hard to not let this type issue arise again. Sending our sincere apologies to how this was handled in your situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My 7 year old daughter and I took a girls vacation and we stayed here in the smallest cabin for a week. It was very clean and well furnished, this particular cabin also had a good sized yard and was within easy walking distance of all the pools (3, two outside one inside), playgrounds, restaurant and office.

The resort isn't directly on the beach and several steps need to be taken to get down. It is still worth it and has a beautiful view of the lake with rentals.

It is also in a great location, we were able to see waterfalls in Munising, MI, bears at Oswalds Bear Ranch (and take pictures with a cub) and Mackinac Island without driving excessively.

We arrived on the weekend in the evening, just be sure to note the office hours as we arrived at closing around 6 or 7pm. There is not a lot in the area by way of grocery stores (15 minutes away) and since there are only a lot of small towns around; their hours are also limited. There are gas stations that have a limited selection of groceries at a higher cost, but they are not 24 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have been coming to Pinebluff since the first year it opened. We love the accomodations! They are always clean and well kept. If we have a problem with something , the staff comes quickly to correct it. There were a few issues this year, because of an ownership conflict going on, however, that did not affect our stay in any way. Wish they still included the wood for firepits, but , that isn't really a big issue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancern53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Our experience couldn't have been more different than the previous reviewer. The resort is in the perfect location - views to die for, immaculately maintained facilities and lodges. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, made us feel guilty as we lazed and watched them work. The sunrises and sunsets over Big Manistique Lake were awesome - at least as good as those over Hawaii.
The lodges are well equipped - range cooker, microwave, fridge-freezer, dish-washer, washing machine and drier, large flat-screen tv, dvd player, full cable package. The rooms are spotless and the furniture (made by the local Amish community) is fascinating and oh so comfortable.
The pool and hot-tub were excellent and we witnessed regular, professional checks on its cleanliness.
Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blueyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Average. The actual accommodations are ok -- though new and relatively nice, the cabin could have used some additional cleaning. The location is nice (on the lake) however, the cabins are VERY close to each other providing no privacy. What is less than average is the service. The staff are dismissive and customer service does not appear to be a priority for them. We called and spoke with them about the shared lodge (and got the opening hours) on the property that we saw on their website - a big sell for us as we thought our kids could enjoy the games, pool, etc. Staff talked about the great pool tables, dartboards, the pool and hot tub, etc. What they failed to mention was that the hot tub was broken (and by the filthy appearance of it, there were no plans to fix it anytime soon) and that one had to pay for ALL of the games. Also, they closed the lodge early several days in a row, despite repeated requests to open it so our kids could use the pool. We liked the proximity to the town of Curtis and saw lots of deer. The beds are comfortable, and the heated floors are very nice.

The snowmobilers made lots of noise. If this is your thing, it would be fine, if not, it's annoying.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Our pools and hot tub are now operational and open for their full business hours. We are sorry for the disrepair during your stay. We hope that you will stay again as we are now under new ownership. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pine Bluff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bluff Resort

Address: N10140 County Road 135, McMillan, MI 49853-9036
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > McMillan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in McMillan
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bluff Resort is the UP's Premier Four Season Resort! We have something for the whole family. Swim, fish, hunt or relax poolside. Atv in the fall, snowmobile in the winter, go boating in the spring and summer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing