We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay and amenities”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mears
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Silver Sands Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Kalamazoo, MI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay and amenities”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our second time staying at the Sands. The first time was in one of the small rooms on he parking lot side. I didn't love it. This year we rented one of the two bedroom condos. Our family had two additional rooms. We loved the condo, the location, the amenities. We were a little worried about the noise from the go cart race track but felt the unit had good sound proof. The convenience to everything was wonderful. We felt the staff was very accommodating. The owners are on the premises and willing to accommodate as needed almost 24-7. We booked the same unit for next year. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms close to office or the rooms upper level close to beach and with a view of the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cslik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
39
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Much better prices than the place we checked out down the road. This place is clean and well kept. The restaurant is the best. We had the home made fish and chips...EXCELLENT! There's lots to see and do here, a wonderful place for a family vacation. We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My first stay at this property - it is very clean, older western Michigan property, family run, and I would recommend it for a couple of nights. The price was typical for peak-season Lake Michigan vacation rooms. Again, I was impressed it was well maintained and very CLEAN - a must for my wife and I. The front desk people were very accommodating, friendly, and a pleasure to deal with. Nothing fancy - but a pleasure. Within a hundred yards of beautiful Silver Lake, and surrounded by a flurry of activities for the family. My only criticism is the bed was very firm - a topper would improve the comfort....

Room Tip: I was in one of the rooms facing the front - a little noisy, in that there is a "roundabout cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed there more than once, there are nearby activities for kids. Location is good, sort of a throwback hotel-showing some age. Expecting a heated pool for what you pay- so hope for warm weather. It does get a little noisy with the go carts next door. If not in a suite, the rooms are very, very small.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Recently stayed with our 2 children, ages 4 and 6, for our 10th anniversary. We all had a wonderful time! Plenty of choices for food and activities. Enjoyed our balcony room because you can see all the different vehicles going to and from the dunes; some very interesting. Would definitely recommend, especially with any age of kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allisoncrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wixom, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Silver Sands Resort is a cute, well-kept resort. We recently stayed 3 nights in room 36, which faces the dunes. Though we endured a couple days of rain, it was a nice stay. Rooms are clean, pool is really nice. Dave, the owner, even took the time to open the pool late for my son after the rain stopped. For those reviewers that complained Silver Sands is a motel, not a resort; duh, have you ever been up north before? This is a very nice place by up north standards! And you city-folk that complain about well water smell; grew up with it and it's a small price to pay for being up north. If you have teenagers, be forewarned, internet service is iffy, at best. My son had to lean against the balcony rail in order to connect, but isn't that why we go up north, to unplug the kids? Cell phone service is fine, just the internet connection.

Do suggest you pay the extra few dollars for court yard view or lake view as many have stated, the go-karts run non-stop until roughly 11 pm. Also, we hoped the have a bonfire but the fire pit is kind of in a parking lot with a bright light near it; seemed pointless. The staff may want to consider moving it to the more than adequate grounds or down by the lake.

Room Tip: As stated, try to avoid rooms on the parking lot due to noise from go-karts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WF, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently held our family reunion at the Sands. The location and all the amenities were just what we needed. The kids loved swimming in the pool and the lake. The picnic tables and grills worked out well for our large group cook-out. We would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: The junior-suite was a good choice for families with older children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
0.1 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
5.3 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
18.8 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort

Property: Silver Sands Resort
Address: 8446 W Hazel Rd, Mears, MI 49436-9679
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hotel Mears

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing