We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent" is an understatement!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I don't know where to begin...I cannot say enough positive things about this lodge. I hesitate to call it a "motel" because it is so much more!! Every aspect of our stay was even better than expected. The location is very convenient to all of the activities at Silver Lake, both the inside and outside were spotless, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and they provide anything you could possibly want or need while away from home. I would highly recommend this property to all and will definitely return when visiting that area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnTheRoadAgain64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. It was fabulous, much better than in the online pictures. It was like staying in your own apartment with maid service. Up to 8 people can stay in it comfortably. It is very spacious and has a separate kitchen that is fully stocked with everything. overall the service was great. They are a family operation and everything is so much more personal than a big chain hotel. Can't say enough about Sean and his family, wonderful peolpe. The website does not do them justice, though. The place is much nicer than it looks, great pool and hot tub. everything is very clean. WIFI available throughout the property, as well as a washer and dryer as well as a decent continental breakfast. If you need any pointers on area activities, ask Sean, he will find just the thing for you to do.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnysunshine2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed three nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is wonderful, very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again. My son informed the manager it was our anniversary and they put our names on the sign with happy anniversary, a nice surprise!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

The rooms and grounds (pool, hot tub) were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful when asked about the area. The other guests were respectful of the after 10pm suggested quiet hours. Simple continental breakfast of homemade muffins, cinnamon rolls, coffee cake and excellent coffee. Highly recommend if visiting the Silver Lake area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeLoveOurVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great location near the dunes, restaurants and everything you want to do. Very clean room. Free video games for kids to use with in room game station. DVD player also in room plus free Wifi (very important since cell phone service is spotty in region). Pristine pool and spa. Could use another washer on site and faucet water has an odd smell (no biggie). Highly recommend it and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobRod33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We took our 2 youngsters here and enjoyed the Mac Woods package. We had a room with bunk beds which the kids enjoyed and also could play their Playstation 2 games there. They have a nice, clean pool and this is located in a very quiet area.

The staff is exceptionally friendly and were helpful enough to recommend the Parrot Landing Sunset tour to see the dunes in the evening. This worked out great and we took the kids in their car seats as I was able to drive and follow the leader.

This is a great place to stay when visiting the dunes or for anyone with a young family in the area. The staff goes out of their way, is courteous, and even provides a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHfamilyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful and more than willing to suggest activities and places to eat. The rooms were extremely clean as was the whole complex. This would be our first choice of where to stay on a return trip. The location is close to the sand dunes and water but not directly in the center of all the activity so it is nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneMarie15317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
3.1 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
19.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
10.5 mi away
Double JJ Resort
Double JJ Resort
#1 of 1 in Rothbury
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range: £74 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing