We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place around!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I absolutely love staying at Sierra Sands. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The staff goes above and beyond, they are some of the nicest people and genuinely care about your experience. I will never stay at a different hotel after staying at Sierra Sands. Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to the sand dunes or surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amandamundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are happy that you have enjoyed your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    44
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
242
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was the nicest place I have stayed at. It was so super clean and the staff was very friendly. We checked out and when we got home we noticed we had left an item in room. I called and they said no problem we will place in mail the next morning. I would tell anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sands24860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Would stay there again. The staff was wonderful and the room very clean. They cleaned the room one day and they went above and beyond. The hotel has a great location as well. In each room is a different painting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
THANK YOU!!! Really appreciate the great review and glad you had a good time. We look forward top seeing you again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. We booked after it came recommended from some friends. The staff was very friendly. The entire facility was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is one of the cleanest we have stayed in. It is obvious that they take pride in the facility. It is conveniently located near the sand dunes and the lake. We will stay again next time we go up and we will recommend to everyone. We LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you! We share these reviews with the housekeeping staff and they love the positive feedback. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Clean clean clean! Friendly, helpful staff . Would recommend bringing some lawn games if you are there for a longer stay. Would also suggest a few lawn chairs to sit on outside your room. Other than that, a great relaxing family vacation. Thank you Sean and staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for the great review, I will pass on the feedback to the staff and look forward to you next trip state side!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My family and I stayed here from 8/8/13 to 8/11/13. Reason why we chose Sierra sands was basically because of all the positive reviews I read. The other two motel resorts are closer to the lake but I am glad we chose Sierra sands resort. Sean and Pam were very very accommodating, friendly, and very knowledgable about the area. The amenities were all you couId ask for and the rooms were not bad at all for being somewhat of a motel resort. We had a great time at Silver Lake and would definitely recommend this place! Family friendly atmosphere all the way!!! We were very satisfied with our stay. Thanks to all the staff at Sierra Sands Resort!!! Hope to see you again soon!!!

Room Tip: I would choose a room on first floor only to avoid stairs since there are no elevators to second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we have been to this area of Michigan. I am so happy that we stayed here. We have two boys ages 15 and 12 and they had a great time. Sierra Sands is clean well maintained and the pool hot tub area was very nice. All the staff was very nice and extremely helpful with where to go and eat. The fire pits in the back are a great place to meet others staying there and find out about their trips. Also the location is great close to everything but far enough away that you don't hear all the noise. We will more than definitely be back I highly recommend staying here... Thank you for a great weekend away :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michmom_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while you visited the Silver Lake Sand Dunes area! Happy you and your family had fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
0.6 mi away
Dunes Waterfront Resort
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
432 reviews
6.7 mi away
No photo provided
Gateway Motel
#3 of 3 in Hart
10 reviews
20.2 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Property: Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing