We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We are from Southeast Michigan and this was the perfect 3 day getaway.
The room/Kids Suite was perfect for the space we required. The kids enjoyed the basketball court, pool, and nightly bomfires complete with Somores and marshmellows.
The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was emaculate.
The location was great, in that, we were close to all the activites but far enough away to enjoy the quietness of nature.
We enjoyed the Mac Dune rides, Rafting, Canoeing, Boating and Sightseeing.
I would strongly recommend this hotel and vacation destination for couples and families of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydaysandfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    42
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
234
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Very friendly owner (Marilyn) and staff very helpful. Allowed me to leave vehicle for several hours after check-out. Location good, except if biking to state park, lighthouse, etc.- a little distance added. Very nice room and bathroom, newer building.
My only complaint is about the bed (queen). Found it uncomfortable, with a metal edge.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8hourssleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. Louis MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Stayed 3 days during week in Silver lakes area. We had room to spread out at hotel with common areas. Pool nice size. Staff very accommodating- owner even offered to loan his van when ours broke down. Area has many activities and reasonably priced activities/

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenfamilystl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Sierra Sands is a rare find--the classic style motel with a modern flare. The rooms are immaculate & spacious. Everything looks new inside the rooms and there is even a flatscreen tv. We had a kids suite which has a separate area with a set of bunk beds & a small tv for the kids with free video games. The kids were in heaven! The outdoor swimming pool is nice size, heated perfectly, and there is a big hot tub as well. They also have a small playground area on the premises. The only thing to be aware of is that they have well water in that area which doesn't have the greatest taste so for us, we'll be bringing bottled water the next time--and there will be a next time! Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanga85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay. Bob and Marilyn are very nice people and, they helped us out alot with ideas of places to see in the area since, we had never been there. The rooms were very clean and, spacious. The pool and, jacuzzi were very clean and, well kept also. We will definitely stay here again and, recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sassyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSalle, IL
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Stayed at the Sierra Sands for just one night with my 19 year old son. We came to the area to ride our quads at the nearby sand dunes. Bob and Marilyn were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. The pool and spa inviting. Large parking lot for our trailer. Good local information. Great place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowmo2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Warmly greeted & treated during stay. Rooms were quite nice-great towels and comfortable beds! Continental breakfast had the special homemade touch of Tasty Cinnamon rolls. Well taken care of property. Owner told us about a unique fish place that we might want to visit. We're so glad we followed his advise! Best fish I've ever tasted. Didn't get an opportunity to use the pool, but It was also well taken care of. An overall very inviting place with extremely pleasant & caring owners!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiana_Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mears
4.8 mi away
Dunes Express Inn & Suites
18.6 mi away
Weathervane Inn
Weathervane Inn
#1 of 2 in Montague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
19.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
20.5 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Property: Sierra Sands Family Lodge
Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436-8605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing