We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT fun for everyone!”

Mac Wood's Dune Rides
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Mears
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a 40 minute tour of the Silver Lake Sand Dunes. We have a vehicle that holds about 20 people that goes on a seven mile trail in the dunes. We stop at Lake Michigan or Silver Lake for a few minutes for pictures and to enjoy the view.
La Vista, NE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT fun for everyone!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband was excited to share this experience with our boys; he had last done it 35 years ago when he was a boy. No one was disappointed, our 4-year-old exclaimed, "This is the most awesome thing ever!" Our driver/guide was very funny, very informative, and very at-ease interacting with everyone in our vehicle. This was so much fun, and we look forward to possibly making this an annual ritual when we return to Michigan to visit family. STRONGLY recommended!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JECGnida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    60
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've been riding with Mac Woods since I was a little kid. It's still lots of fun. I wish they still had the seats that face backwards tho.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank STL43057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“family fun”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family decided to go on the dunes tour rather than renting our own. Chris was a fantastic tour guide. Very funny. Not only was the ride fun and beautiful, but very informative and interesting. Loved the ride and the shop. Don't forget to stop by whippy dip treats next door. Great wood fired pizza and yummy ice cream treats!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
204 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“What a ride!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I did the dune ride for the first time. We were not sure what to expect but we heard it was a lot of fun, it did not disappoint. Our tour guide was Bob and he was great, funny, informative, and helpful. The ride itself was exhilarating and similar to a roller-coaster. The "scooter" as they are called goes much faster than expected making it exciting but never feeling dangerous. Bob made several stops to provide facts about the dunes mixed in with some humor. We had a 10 min stop at the shores of Lake Michigan. The lake is cold and from the dunes to the beach you can drop 10 degrees or more in air temperature so bring a light jacket if it is a cool day. No appointment or reservations are necessary, you just walk up, buy your tickets, and wait for your name to be called. It was a very busy day and we only waited 15 mins or so. All the people working there were very friendly and interested in you having a good time. I highly recommend the tour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank svanwass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasson, Minnesota
2 reviews
“What a ride”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Mac Wood's Dune Ride exceeded my expectations. We had a large family group, 17 in total, that fit into one vehicle. The guide did a great job with the kids and adults alike. He not only drove us on an exciting ride around curves and up and down dunes, he also taught us a little about the ecology of the dunes. It was a great mix of exhilarating fun and educational entertainment.
We had a chance to walk down by the shore, the guide offered to take group pictures, and we all came back happy that we had gone on this adventure! It certainly was a highlight of our trip to the Silver Lake area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dolejenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mac Wood's Dune Rides also viewed

 

Been to Mac Wood's Dune Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing