We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient and capable state park”

Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Metamora
Attraction details
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A convenient and capable state park”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Metamora-Hadley is conveniently located off I-69 and situated between Lapeer and Oxford. The feels is woodsy but you are only a few minutes away from a number of towns and things to do other than camp.
The best sites are situated in the front section of the campground close to the lake. Bathroom facilities are limited so if this is something you need to use regularly, pick your site accordingly as it can be quite a hike from some sites.
People and staff are friendly here, the day use area can get a bit over run by the scum of the earth, but hey what beach doesn't.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shine1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Have not camped here in years. But as a kid growing up in Detroit it was a close get away with a up north feel. Lake was better when gas motors where not allowed but still a great canoe or paddle boat lake. Lots of great memories here. From the trails, beaches, and the fishing. Nothing beats listening to Ernie and chillin by the camp fire. Great camp ground!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Riderez2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodrich, MI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty place in the fall”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We camped here in the fall of 2011. Pretty plave especially along the lake when the colors are in peak. Average size lots for a state park and friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Detroit
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent Campgrounds”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We camped here with a large group of friends that gets together every July to camp at a Michigan Campground. Metamora was what I consider "fine." Nothing major to complain about. Nothing to rave about either. The beach was nice, although far from the campground. There is a little camp store that offers snacks and a few items you may need. The bathrooms and showers are pretty much what you'd expect a campground to have. Modern and as clean as you can get in such a setting. The park rangers were all very pleasant, even with our group (which tends to be loud well after quiet hours, opps!). Beware of raccons at night, though. They are hungry and aggressive. The kids freaked out after being hissed at and there was bumping and clawing at the tents in the night. Many in our group had their food supplies ransacked. We put all of our coolers and food bins in the trunk of our car to be safe. All in all it was okay. Good enough for the group to vote going back again this summer. So, Metamora 2013 it is!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyFunMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“whats not to love about it”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I have walked almost everywhere in this park as a nearby resident with my dogs and other friends with their dogs as well. We also camped with friends and family and had great times. The park is clean with nice sites,sandy beach,beautiful trails with bridges and streams along the way and plenty of wildlife. There is plenty to do at the park for any age.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Metamora-Hadley State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing