We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as first impression suggested”
Review of Annabelle's Own

Annabelle's Own
Ranked #3 of 142 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
169 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not as good as first impression suggested”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I'm updating a prior review where I gave an "Excellent" rating after our first visit. We've been back a few times and found it is not nearly as good as we first thought. I've had chicken over biscuits that was scrumptious and triggered the initial rating. Since, we've tried the pasty - pretty good, but a bit bland due to the lack of rutabaga, a pot roast stuffed baked potato that was very good but is no longer on the menu, mac 'n' cheese that needs a sharper cheddar to save it from terminal blandness, five-way chili that was a reasonable facsimile of Cincinnati chili, but was a bit heavy on the chili powder, and nachos that were just bad. The nachos had very little cheese and what cheese there was was overcooked and dried out. Overall I can rate it only average. It's worth a try because the menu is unique, but we will never be regulars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    22
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The macaroni and cheese is heavenly! The rolls seem homemade. I couldn't keep my daughter away from my plate! There isn't alot of seating but we were fine when we went- got right in. Stop by the ice cream shop for a waffle cone full of ice cream for dessert you won't regret it. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carouselqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“ok, not the greatest though”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I went therewith my boyfriend. I had the special of the day, the Taco Roll with tortilla chips and salsa. It was advertised on their facebook page as "We are going to fill our delicious naan bread with taco meat. Lettuce, tomato, avocado, and taco sauce and send it out in a basket with plenty of chips and salsa!" It was cold all the way though and I found 1 piece of avocado on it, after. It was ok, but much better when I took it home and heated it up. I figured it would be warm, not cold. My boyfriend had the wet burrito. It was also ok, and I can make better at home. It was supposed to be "full of meat, refried beans, cheddar cheese, and topped with a meaty chili sauce" The sauce hardly had any meat in it. It was also clearly microwaved as there were spots that were super hot and others that were still stone cold. I've had worse food and I've had better. I will probably come back again and give them another chance as they are fairly new and just started serving the summer menu, but hope my food would be warm the next time, especially things like the burrito that should be warm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momma_of_kitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good food but”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Being a caterer does not necessarily make one a great restaurateur. Since this is a small eatery I was advised to make reservations for a Friday dinner for 6 people. Tried twice by phone during business hours to make a reservation but no luck with anyone answering the phone. Finally facebooked and requested one. Answer back, we look forward to seeing you. Well, you can imagine my surprise when we arrived and there was not a table reserved and no one seemed to be aware we even had a reservation. We were taken next door to the ice cream store and 3 small tables were hastily put together for us. We were offered popcorn which was a nice touch but it tasted like soap! On to the dinner, the first one ordered and pasties were not available, so 4 of us ordered the hot turkey sandwich. One ordered a gyro and one the rib and chicken dinner. Salads for the 4 turkeys came out but we were into our dinner before salad for the other 2 arrived. Of course we were finished eating by the time the last 2 got their dinners. Everyone liked their meal but I don't think this eatery can handle parties this large. Coffee was served in a huge mug and tasted like soap. It also gets cold fast. The waitress was very nice but overwhelmed I think. Don't think we'll be back and I'm sorry but I can't recommend this restaurant based on my experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan42469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Annablelle's Own is awesome”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Ron and I stopped here on our way home from town yesterday and had the Cherry Coke ribs. O! M! G! they were awesome! The service was fast and friendly and the prices are so reasonable. We had to share a meal because you get so much. I highly recommend Annabelle's!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annabelle's Own also viewed

 

Been to Annabelle's Own? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing