We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Canuck/Damn Yankee Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Valley Plaza Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Midland
Reviewed 16 September 2013

6 couples from US & Canada get together every year and we chose this hotel this year. We had a great time - clean rooms, great pool & hot tub, lovely courtyard, great breakfast and very accommodating staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Property has seen better days. Seems really huge for the Midland area, and was not real crowded for an August weekend. Just an okay value at $75 per night with my gov't discount. Staff were all very friendly & helpful - they couldn't be nicer, but the place is kind of dumpy. The common areas are in serious need of a major face-lift. Dark hallways, pool, & breakfast areas. Lobby had an overwhelming fried-food odor & the hallways smelled like "old motel". Be sure to get a courtyard-side room, much nicer view than the parking lots. Rooms were ok, large & clean. Bed comfy & bathroom clean. 2nd sink - in the room - was odd, but handy. Old TV, not flat screen. Breakfast was just okay (I don't expect much for free); decent waffles & bread products, sausage & eggs only fair. Pool & fitness areas were big & roomy, with a nice hot tub & even a sauna (rare & welcome), but were in need of tidying up. Next time I'm in the area, will probably stay at the Holiday Inn Crowne Plaza up the road, which looked a lot newer & nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Good clean facility, looks like updating has taken place in some areas. Quiet rooms, quality beds. Reserved King room and received two queens, the problem was corrected with minimal effort on my part. Requested a late check out when I arrived, but was told to call in the morning. When I did only 30 minutes was granted.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I read that they had a special from Thursday through Sunday. We were staying Monday to Wednesday so I called to ask about what specials they had then. I was told of a discounted room rate and that was it. I have stayed there before, great place for kids. Went July 1-3. Worst exeperiance ever. Movies and bowling both closed, restaurant and gift shop closed and hot tub broken. None of this was mentioned when I called to make the reservation. Then when we wanted to talk to a Manager on two different occasions, mysteriously, none were around to help. Front desk clerk would do nothing for us. The room was old, very dated and smelled. A/C unit was loud and did not work well. We were so upset and disappointed in what this hotel had become, we left the following morning for a different hotel. Tried to talk to a manager but of course they were all too busy to help out a customer

Room Tip: To choose a good room here, best bet, pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were at Valley Plaza Inn to attend a wedding. The staff was very friendly and helpful and had our reservation ready upon arrival. The room has been updated and is large, but are still very aged. Air conditioning unit was very noisy and the sliding door to the patio was hard to slide. The food at the free breakfast was ok, but have had better continental breakfasts. The complex offers a lot of amenities for families and they appeared to be a hit. Ice machine nearest the room did not work and the door into the room did not open completely as it was blocked to avoid hitting the closet and room safe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Looking back at my travels, and better lodging opportunities I've experienced in the region, I unfortunately have to give the Best Western - Valley Plaza Inn - Midland,, MI a poor rating on cleanliness, guest comfort, quietness, food, and customer service. This property does not deserve to have the Best Western brand that I've seen as a better quality hotel brand in other locations in my travels in the U.S. and Canada. Look to the Best Western in Cornwall, Ontario, as the best of the Best Western hotels, and learn from them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had a room with a walk out patio which was nice to be able to have fresh air and does not get the express way noise like the outside rooms.
The hotel is older, but they have new beds and tv's. Internet service was good. Has a restaurant that you can walk to, basically in the parking lot.
Price was much better than the other chains in the area.
Not many guests when I was there, but I can understand the concerns of other comments. Big indoor pool with a game area that could draw alot of loud kids if on a weekend.

Room Tip: I prefer the indoor corridor rooms. All rooms in this section do have a patio or balcony, but the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkn371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Midland
Days Inn Midland
#8 of 11 in Midland
96 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Midland
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 11 in Midland
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Midland
Holiday Inn Midland
#4 of 11 in Midland
227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#3 of 11 in Midland
401 reviews
4.2 mi away
The H Hotel
The H Hotel
#1 of 11 in Midland
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Valley Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Valley Plaza Inn

Address: 5221 Bay City Rd, Midland, MI 48642-6351 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Midland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Midland
Price Range: £57 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Valley Plaza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Valley Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Valley Plaza Hotel Midland
Best Western Midland
Midland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing