We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern & Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The H Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The H Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Modern & Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

We stayed at the H hotel because we attended a company holiday party held in one of the banquet rooms here. The lobby is modern, quiet, & inviting. The king room was beautiful & comfortable. I loved the decor; whites with dark wood & splashes of bright orange. The food offered at the party was delicious - I'm not sure if this reflects the food in the restaurants here, but everything we had was wonderful. All of the employees were helpful & polite. We briefly visited Bar Oxygen, but there was no music or dancing so we went elsewhere. We received quite a bit of snow that night, & in the morning our vehicle had been brushed free of snow & a path shoveled around it. This hotel is within walking distance of some other great restaurants & nightlife. We will definitely return to this hotel & would highly recommend it as a place to hold a company event.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolce123, Sales and Marketing Assistant at The H Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thanks for the nice review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the H and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    131
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
233
232
27
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were booked into The H Hotel through Priceline and we couldn't have been happier. The location was easy to find in downtown Midland. The hotel offers complimentary underground parking, as well as a surface lot and valet.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even brought us cookies shortly after we checked in. The lobby and other public areas are very well-maintained, classy and upscale. The outside landscaping was also very nice. The front desk person made sure to inform us of the complimentary pantry area on the 5th floor. It included a microwave with a refridgerator/freezer full of soda, juice, bottled water, frozen breakfast and lunch sandwiches. There were also chips, pretzels and other snacks available.

Our single king room overlooked the farmer's market, park and 'tridge.' It had a decent amount of space - desk, nightstands, sitting chair with ottoman and side table. The tv was enclosed in an armoire and electrical outlets were many and conveniently located. The bathroom had lots of counter space, but a somewhat small tub. The toiletries were nice and the towels were soft.

The bed was my favorite part. While the mattress seemed old, the feather bed topper definitely made up for it. The pillows and comforter were also feather/down filled to make for a very comfy sleep.

We did not partake of the property's restaurants since their prices are quite high. The pizza place across the street wasn't bad. :)

I would definitely stay here again, as long as I didn't have to pay the full price. What can I say - I'm cheap!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alphaxichica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Attended a wedding at the property. Beautiful hotel, very unique.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate you staying with us at the H and are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

The H Hotel is worth every penny. Me and my wife stayed for a quick getaway and found out we found a great four star hotel in the heart of Midland. The hotel is beautiful. Very clean. The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home. The amenities are top notch. They have a pantry full of snacks and juice, open to all guest of the hotel. The staff was friendly, the parking was great. The only flaw was that there was no LCD HDTV. But after laying on the bed, no don't even care anymore.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byggtyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Thanks for the nice review. We appreciate you staying with us at the H and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are currently making plans to upgrade to LCD TV's in the future. Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel exceeded all of my expectations. The staff was very professional and amazing when I was checking in 30 minutes early.

The room was comfortable, clean, and relaxing. The bed was high quality. I think my only complaint about that the bed is the pillows were too soft for me, but my wife they were perfect.

The pool hours are very nice for the traveler, 5 am to 12 am on weekends. And it was hidden away in the fitness area. Nice size, with whirlpool. Locker rooms had showers with soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers, nice touch.

The restaurants on site are quality..

Overall, just a really great place to stay in Midland..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazistevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
Thanks for the nice review. We appreciate you staying with us at the H and are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again, when you do please be sure to request a foam pillow for your room which we hope will help you get a better rest.

Best regards,
Tim Shelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

This is a lovely hotel in a great small town. It's right downtown within walking distance of stores and restaurants and a ballpark, and there's a biking trail right behind the hotel (I was told the hotel has free bikes you can borrow too). The hotel shuttle can pick up and drop you off to the nearby Tri-City Airport (MBS) - it's about a 20 minute drive.

The room was perfectly comfortable, and best of all, there was no noise from nearby guests or traffic outside. Food at Cafe Zinc was surprisingly good. There were about 4 computers and a printer for guests downstairs.

The staff was always pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippertogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

The H Hotel is a beautiful hotel right in the heart of Midland. It is in walking distance to many little restaurants and a great candy/chocolate store! The hotel is decorated nicely (the public restroom sinks are swanky!) and the staff was always very friendly. The room itself was fine - nothing out of the ordinary, but very clean and comfortable, plus there was free internet.

I was there for a conference and the conference rooms were very up to date and above average, technology-wise. Watch for signs in the conference wing, though, some of the rooms are somewhat hidden down a dark hallway.

The highlight for me was definitely the conference food - no bland chicken and rice here! We had (amongst many things...) squash soup, gourmet hot pretzels, tasty salads with more than just iceberg lettuce, and there were always delicious looking vegetarian options. I did not eat in any of the other restaurants there, but the conference food was the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrealena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midland hotels
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Midland
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Midland
Holiday Inn Midland
#4 of 11 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Midland
Hampton Inn Midland
#3 of 11 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Residence Inn Midland
Residence Inn Midland
#5 of 11 in Midland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Midland
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Valley Plaza Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The H Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The H Hotel

Property: The H Hotel
Address: 111 W Main St, Midland, MI 48640-5155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Midland
#1 Family Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The H Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 13 miles from MBS International Airport, and minutes away from both Dow Chemical and Dow Corning, The H Hotel offers business and leisure travelers style, sophistication and comfort. From elegant weddings to exciting vacations, our hotel provides the best accommodations for all types of getaways. With abundant event space, luxurious guest rooms, and a world-class fitness center, guests enjoy relaxation and rejuvenation at every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The H Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Hotel Midland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing