We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give this old man break. . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mio Motel

Mio Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mio Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mio
Milan, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give this old man break. . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This older man/owner is cranky in his own rights. He is hard of hearing and almost 90 years old. My sister and I stayed in this very nice clean room when it was zero degrees outside. The room was nice, warm and the beds were very comfortable. I would recomend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: Nice place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed here on my way up north and hit an ice storm. Woke the owner up at 2am. He was cool about it. This motel is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed at. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was one of the best showers I have used at a hotel. Simple to adjust and nice hot water, not lukewarm.

Room Tip: Right by a grocery store and restaurants. Has a refrigerator and a microwave. Very close to the Au...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veracraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I called to make a reservation for a group, but the owner hung up on me before I had the chance. Why? When he just answered "hello" it prompted me to ask if this was the "Mio Motel" which I apparently pronounced wrong. Upon hearing this, Peter the owner told me that he was "pissed off that I couldn't pronounce the name right". He also asked me where I went to school, and why they didn't teach me how to read. Then he hung up.

Please, do not give this jerk your business, and ask your friends to do the same!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MGthescienceguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I would NOT stay at this hotel if it was the last one standing. I called to see if rooms were availabe for a few months head, the man that answered the phone was probably one of the rudest people I have ever spoke with in my life.. If the person that answers the phone is mean I cant amagine even after reading the reviews that this some place that I wont to spend my money!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We just stayed here last night. My husband said too that the lady who checked him in was very nice. This was our first time here. The room was clean, and we could tell that it has been updated. The price was reasonable. We certainly won't hesitate to stay here again! We went to the restaurant across the street for breakfast and ordered off the menu. The waitress was very friendly and the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We had a really nice stay. There was a girl who checked us in and she was the most pleasant person ever. I read the post about her being so nice to the other customer it just had to be her. The price was very resonable and the room was Very CLEAN! The bed was sooo comfortable! We found out they were pillow tops. We had the best night's sleep on that bed then any other Hotel we have ever stayed in! Very clean and we will be planning another trip in the summer! This next time we will also plan a canoe trip and invite our friends to stay with us!

Room Tip: The Beds were very comfortable!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank male p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyne City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

the mio motel is clean has heating and cooling at a nice price, but when we checked in it was a bad experance the people were mean and treated us like crapas we were checking out we had to be out by 10 or something so we had to wait for our party out side the room as we waited the cleaning crew noticed some stuff we left and they were kind and returned our belongings our party arived and right before we left a lady came up to us and applogised for a worker complaining wile she was working we were unaware about this but it was nice of them to appoligse

Helpful?
1 Thank R.j. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mio
15.8 mi away
Gorton House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Mio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Motel

Property: Mio Motel
Address: 415 N Morenci Ave, Mio, MI 48647-9473
Region: United States > Michigan > Mio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing