We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of White House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mohawk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White House Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Annandale, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This motel is wonderful! The owners are so nice, the rooms were very clean. We had room #6 and were expecting to double sized beds and a bathroom. We also walked in to find a microwave and fridge which was perfect since were were staying 4 days with 3 children under the age of 9.
I will happliy return to the place next time we come.
The only thing that would have made it even better would have been a small playground for the kids but that was easily remedied by driving just a town over to a park.
You seriously can't beat this price.

Room Tip: #6 had a microwave and mini fridge- it's the wolf room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjasarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Cheri and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White House Motel, we do enjoy families to our Motel and we take note of your playground comments, it may be something that we add, the only problem is the amount of snow we have in the winter and the whole of our lawn area is plowed to allow for snowmobile trailer parking. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years. This is a gem of a find in the Keweenaw!! Not far from anywhere you want to go/do. If you're looking for a resort, this isn't it, but most people are up here for the scenery. The owners are wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very nice and extremely clean; not to mention half the price of anything else in the area. Slims café next door has excellent breakfasts, lunch, and fresh bakery.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you Dottie B for your kind comments, we are so glad that you enjoy our Motel and the Keweenaw, the area is so beautiful and as the seasons change so does the landscape. We are so lucky to live here in peace and tranquility and it is always a pleasure to welcome you to your home away from home in the Keweenaw. Bob and Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Owners were friendly and made recommendations for dining. Rooms are very charmingly (theme) decorated and of good size with all the amenities. Cute notes apologizing for the wait for hot water, etc. They have built an enclosed front for winter access and room heats very quickly. Enjoy the White-House inn across the road.

Room Tip: If you don't like stuffed animals in your room, specify a non-animal themed room. I wish they wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We used it as lodging while skiing Mount Bohemia. It seems a typical little, tired motel at the end of the world but inside the room, you see big heart in small details, like decorations making it less impersonal. The rate is very reasonable, the rooms are good size, have a desk, a fridge, and a microwave. The Internet wasn't working the first night when we arrived late but after the reset next morning, it was fast and problem-free.
The owners are great - friendly, warm, easy-going (key in the door waiting for us, without even a CC deposit), with stories to tell. I will certainly come back while visiting the great Mt. Bohemia again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, AR
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stays in to rooms here over the weekend. Rooms are clean and very close to trail 3! Ample parking and free wifi in room. We did smell weed in the hallway but it didn't really bother us. I would recommend this place for easy access to the trial but not much to do in town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWAFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review, wish you had informed us about the weed smell, we do not tollerate drugs of any kind at the White House Motel. Thanks once again for staying with us at the White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We were four generations, staying in three rooms. VERY clean rooms, nice little touches such as candies in a dish. The only drawback was no cell service and no phones in the rooms, but otherwise it was perfect for our needs, and a great location for all the places we wanted to go. Hearty breakfast next door, too! We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieCaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed here many times. It never gets old. Each room is individually decorated with some kind of theme. This year out room was "moose". A personal touch makes every room cozy. Treat yourself to homemade scones and coffee each morning. The gracious hosts will do anything to make you happy and comfortable. Definitely the only place I will stay in the Keweenaw!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gravesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohawk
6.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
16.4 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
28 reviews
16.2 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
16.0 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Motel

Property: White House Motel
Address: 3606 US Highway 41, Mohawk, MI 49950-9601
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mohawk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators of this 10 room motel adjacent to US 41, plenty of parking and trailer parking in the winter, showers and tubs in all rooms together with self controlled heating, hair dryers, fridges and microwaves and Free WiFi. There is a Bar and Restaurant opposite with food from 4pm - 9pm and a cafe next door for breakfast, we serve free coffee and home made scones in the office each morning. Our Motel has 10 themed rooms and all are non smoking. The White House Motel is your Home-away-from home in the beautiful Keweenaw. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing