We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Seek A Pleasant Place on the Peninsula, Look About No More”
Review of White House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mohawk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White House Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Okay, I'm not excited about this place because this was the first bed we slept in after 4 nights on Isle Royale....oh no! The White House has to be one of the best values on the Keweenaw peninsula when it comes to hotels. Bob and his wife are the perfect hosts of this 10-room motel. It's truly mom-and-pop because not only are they the owners but the only two employees! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Each have some sort of theme to add a bit of eclectic spice to the place. Our room was #10, the Portugal Room! While there is no free breakfast, Bob cooks up coffee and fresh scones for guests everyday by 8:30. Spend some time sitting out front on a porch swing in front of a fire pit. If you're a bit sporty, grab the cooler and pitch some horseshoes with your friends. The White House Restaurant is right across the highway (no business relationship with this Motel). Book in advance because this place has guests who keep coming back. And by the way...this motel has NO off-season. Snowmobilers and hunters book in advance when the leaves turn brown and fall and get covered with snow.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Cheri and I thank you for your comments and are pleased that we were able to offer you a comfortable bed and a place to stay after your trip to Isle Royale, it is so rewarding for us as Motel owners that you and other take time to write on TripAdvisor about your stay, thus making decisions easier for future travelers to this area. thanks again and we hope to see you again soon in the Keweenaw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We opted for this small family-owned motel rather than a well-known chain. Rooms were a little small, but clean and well-maintained, and $30-40 less than the going rate at other locations. Fresh baked scones with morning coffee was a nice bonus. .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you Joel for your comments on our Motel, we strive to keep our prices as low as possible but keeping in mind the fact that we need to make a profit to stay in business, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, many of our guests like the coffee and scones in the morning. we hope that we can welcome you again on your next visit to the White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a very nice mom and pop motel, very clean, friendly owner. The rooms are very nice, well appointed, comfortable bed. The scones in the morning were delicious! Overall, an excellent value. I was somewhat concerned that there was no A/C, but a very good fan was in the room and it really cooled down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

We thank you so much for you comments and we are pleased that you chose to stay with us at The White House Motel, we have mulled over the idea of putting in AirCon but we are trying to keep our prices at a level that we can stay in business and give our guests value for money. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit here in the Keweenaw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This motel is wonderful! The owners are so nice, the rooms were very clean. We had room #6 and were expecting to double sized beds and a bathroom. We also walked in to find a microwave and fridge which was perfect since were were staying 4 days with 3 children under the age of 9.
I will happliy return to the place next time we come.
The only thing that would have made it even better would have been a small playground for the kids but that was easily remedied by driving just a town over to a park.
You seriously can't beat this price.

Room Tip: #6 had a microwave and mini fridge- it's the wolf room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjasarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Cheri and I are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White House Motel, we do enjoy families to our Motel and we take note of your playground comments, it may be something that we add, the only problem is the amount of snow we have in the winter and the whole of our lawn area is plowed to allow for snowmobile trailer parking. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years. This is a gem of a find in the Keweenaw!! Not far from anywhere you want to go/do. If you're looking for a resort, this isn't it, but most people are up here for the scenery. The owners are wonderful, so friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very nice and extremely clean; not to mention half the price of anything else in the area. Slims café next door has excellent breakfasts, lunch, and fresh bakery.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotti b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you Dottie B for your kind comments, we are so glad that you enjoy our Motel and the Keweenaw, the area is so beautiful and as the seasons change so does the landscape. We are so lucky to live here in peace and tranquility and it is always a pleasure to welcome you to your home away from home in the Keweenaw. Bob and Cheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We used it as lodging while skiing Mount Bohemia. It seems a typical little, tired motel at the end of the world but inside the room, you see big heart in small details, like decorations making it less impersonal. The rate is very reasonable, the rooms are good size, have a desk, a fridge, and a microwave. The Internet wasn't working the first night when we arrived late but after the reset next morning, it was fast and problem-free.
The owners are great - friendly, warm, easy-going (key in the door waiting for us, without even a CC deposit), with stories to tell. I will certainly come back while visiting the great Mt. Bohemia again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wind_n_water_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stays in to rooms here over the weekend. Rooms are clean and very close to trail 3! Ample parking and free wifi in room. We did smell weed in the hallway but it didn't really bother us. I would recommend this place for easy access to the trial but not much to do in town.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWAFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobCheri, Owner at White House Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your review, wish you had informed us about the weed smell, we do not tollerate drugs of any kind at the White House Motel. Thanks once again for staying with us at the White House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohawk
16.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Houghton, MI
5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
14.9 mi away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
43 reviews
14.7 mi away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
14.5 mi away
Super 8 Houghton
Super 8 Houghton
#2 of 7 in Houghton
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Motel

Address: 3606 US Highway 41, Mohawk, MI 49950-9601
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mohawk
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mohawk
Price Range: £38 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are owner operators of this 10 room motel adjacent to US 41, plenty of parking and trailer parking in the winter, showers and tubs in all rooms together with self controlled heating, hair dryers, fridges and microwaves and Free WiFi. There is a Bar and Restaurant opposite with food from 4pm - 9pm and a cafe next door for breakfast, we serve free coffee and home made scones in the office each morning. Our Motel has 10 themed rooms and all are non smoking. The White House Motel is your Home-away-from home in the beautiful Keweenaw. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing