We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here 1 night in July. We stayed in room 203 and it was a large, luxurious suite. There was a kitchen in the suite, complete with fruit, yoghurt, cereal bars, cereal, pop and water, all available for the taking - it was a nice touch!

Overall the suite was comfortable and spacious and if we ever go back to Monroe will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniemac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

Most of the time, we accept a chain hotel as the only option when traveling for business. Hotel Sterling is a wonderful break from the ordinary. From the hardwood floors, to the luxurious bedding - the fully stocked and complimentary refreshments - the huge walk-in shower with oversized showerhead - flat screen tv and comfortable couch in the living area - this felt more like a fashionably furnished studio apartment than a hotel room! Being that the hotel is considered "boutique" in style, there is not 24/7 guest services. However, guests are provided a code to enter the building after normal business hours.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie48188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I attended an event for the local hospital and we have over an hour drive to get home, so the night before the we decided book a room at this small hotel located downtown. PERFECT CHOICE! Clean, comfortable, welcoming, even a small kitchenette area stocked with free drinks/snacks. We will stay again!

Room Tip: The hotel is not staffed at night and weekends, but they leave a phone number in case you need to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt-Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We had such a great stay! I came with both of my children and we could not have asked for a better set up. The complimentary fruit, milk and cereal made our mornings perfectly easy. We had family and events nearby and getting to and from the hotel was extremely easy as well. Our room was absolutely GORGEOUS...from the hardwood floors, the furniture and the decor - to the very clean bathroom and amazing bedding. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Monroe...or even in the area...and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seejanierunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Hotel Sterling is not only the best value, but the best hotel in Monroe, period. The one and only downside is the lack of an elevator - BUT - there are rooms at ground level if the stairs are not an option for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Large suites, Refrigerator is stocked with complementary milk, juice, yogurt, water , breakfast cereals and fruit on the counter. Complimentary laundry facilities. It's family owned and all those that we met could not have been nicer or more helpful. It's recently redone from an old hotel of 40 rooms to having curently 9 suites. Parking is on the street but right in front of the building. The furniture and beds are great! The only thing I might improve on is lighting at the table. There's really not a good place to read or work...but I was on vacation visiting family and friends and really didn't care!! I'd love to go back!!

Room Tip: Traffic starts on Front Street about 6AM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagnerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My sister got married in Monroe and I had no interest in the chain hotels off the interstate. I found the Hotel Sterling online and was so excited!! It is right downtown, in a "Main Street America" little town. You could walk to great restaurants and bars. The hotel was modern, unique and stocked with snacks and drinks. I love this boutique hotel and will always stay when visiting my sister. A perfect addition to the great little Monroe downtown. We have small children and the suites are set up great for privacy and comfort. Thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EME77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monroe hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Monroe
128 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 8 in Monroe
293 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: 109 W Front St, Monroe, MI 48161-2338
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range: £71 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Monroe's finest accommodations. Suites feature hardwood flooring, leather furniture, marble bath and bar with refrigerator/sink/microwave. Contemporary, first class finishes. Hotel located in Downtown within walking distance to variety of lounges and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing