We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming; quiet”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Nicely decorated, small hotel in downtown Monroe. Our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The food items (mentioned in other reviews) are a nice plus. The hotel is so small (13 rooms?) that staff is not always at the desk, so make your reservation ahead! We happened to be in town on one of the summer Thursday evenings of Monroe's "River Raisin Jazz Series"- enjoyed wonderful music with our dinner at McGeady's. Jazz musicians were featured at other nearby venues as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirtroads15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sterling
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Pros:
1) The small fridge was stocked with water, pop, milk, yogurt and juice.
2) Breakfast items were provided (cereals, breakfast bars, fruit and instant oatmeal).
3) Spacious room.
4) Room was quiet. We didn't hear any noise from nearby rooms.
5) Free local and long distance calls.
6) Comfortable chairs and the TV rotates from facing the living area to facing the bed.
7) Room was very clean.


Cons:
By far the worst part of the room is the bedding.
1) The comforter was stained (see photo). Yuck!
2) The pillows had stains on them.
3) The mattress pad had stains on it and it had several holes in it.
4) The pillows needed to be replaced. They were lumpy and uncomfortable.
5) The clothes iron had a large gummy burnt spot on the bottom. After I plugged the iron into the outlet, it began to smoke and give off a very bad odor.

Overall, Our stay here was pretty good. Its just hard to ignore stains on the bed you are sleeping in!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for a quiet stay.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Two4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Beautiful room. Very comfortable bed. Nice treats for breakfast in a fridge. Microwave. Good coffee. Nice area. Not expensive and totally worth it. My brother in law suggested it when I was hesitating about where to stay in the area. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was visiting a friend for her daughters wedding, they recommended the Hotel Sterling. I was so impressed, it was like a top notch New York Hotel...It was spacious, Clean and just so tastefully decorated. It was comfortable and I love the privacy. at first not having the Hotel staff around was kind of weird, but I must say it totally worked. I would highly recommend The Hotel Sterling, one of the best if not the best Hotels Ive stayed in.......

Room Tip: enjoy!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiddoodles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Ikea-style remodel, marble flooring, roman shades, comfortable bed. I only have good things to say about this place. Nice in-room fridge stocked with items for a continental-style breakfast, and keurig coffee maker- all included in the price of the room. This is a stellar example of an independent business outperforming chain hotels. I'd definitely recommend this place, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TenaciousBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Hotel Sterling was one the best hotel experiences that I've experienced this year. The concept of the hotel is brilliant. The only issue I had is that my family and I were not able to check into the room that we were initially supposed to have due to a mix up. The property manager was very apologetic and comped our room for the night.

Room Tip: The rooms are condo style and is not your typical hotel. There is no front desk clerk, swimming pool...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I was in town visiting family and it was recommended that I stay at Hotel Sterling, I could not have been more impressed or pleased with the amazing hotel and exceptional room. As soon as we entered the glass front doors into the very inviting lobby I was immediately impressed by the beautiful and tastefully decorated interior. The renovations and upgrades have done an exceptional job at maintaining the charm of a historic space but modernizing it in a tasteful way to show off the great features. I walked into my 1 bedroom suit and was shocked. Very spacious, high ceilings, a wonderful bed(soft white linens), beautiful wood floor, trim around all the door frames. The bathroom was recently remodeled to included a rain shower which was such a treat and the towels were plentiful and exceptional quality. I loved all the small attention to detail which made this truly and amazing visit. The in-room refrigerator stocked with treats and beverages was such a welcomed accompaniment to the breakfast goodies bowl on the table. Everywhere I looked I just felt like there were so many personalized touches which made me feel so comfortable, I will absolutely stay at Hotel Sterling again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monroe hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Monroe
125 reviews
23.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 8 in Monroe
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Address: 109 W Front St, Monroe, MI 48161-2338
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range: £70 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Monroe's finest accommodations. Suites feature hardwood flooring, leather furniture, marble bath and bar with refrigerator/sink/microwave. Contemporary, first class finishes. Hotel located in Downtown within walking distance to variety of lounges and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing