We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ”
Review of Hotel Sterling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sterling
Ranked #1 of 2 Monroe B&B and Inns
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice ”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this property. It's right in town, and the rooms are huge. They provide refreshments in room as well as cereal, snack bars and fruit. No elevator so you'll have to drag your luggage upstairs. And the front desk wasn't manned while I was there, just an envelope with my name and room keys. Would stay there again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
37
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have family and business in Monroe, and discovered this gem a few years ago for our overnight or longer stays. The owner took a historic building and completely renovated the space into 12 distinct and well designed rooms. Energy efficient “green” features like a rain shower in the bathroom, along with individual heating controls. If in doubt what room to book, the staff is extremely friendly and happy to assist. The rooms all feel like your own apartment, appointed with King or Queen beds. The latest room additions are two levels. With the bedroom and bath upstairs with a living area below. Flat screen televisions, that rotate between the sitting and the bedroom areas. Two comfortable leather chairs with footstools, for relaxing or reading. A true honor system, with complimentary refrigerated water, juices, sodas, and even milk for your morning cereal. Or heat one of the oatmeal packets in the microwave. Plus a basket of fresh fruit selections, and energy bars. And of course an individual coffee maker. All may be enjoyed at the Pub style table in the room too. The hotel is located downtown Monroe, where the in room guide will direct you to the neighboring area and restaurants. Also a reason to stop for a restful night, if you are traveling from Detroit to Ohio, and beyond, or visa versa. Suitable for business travelers or couples celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Can't say enough, what a great experience! We will definitely be back next time we are in Monroe. The hotel is spotless, quiet and the extra touches really set this hotel above the rest, Where else do you find freshly baked pumpkin bread in your room? Also many to Cheryl for helping us out by changing our room to one with a bit more space and her recommendations on some local eateries where spot on,great service!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 202 and was very happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for one night while in town for a wedding. We knew there was no elevator so be prepared to walk up a lot of stairs if your room is on the 3rd floor like ours. We had a crying baby on our floor (oh joy!). The bed was very comfortable and a nice bathroom with an awesome shower. We liked that there was breakfast in the room (cold cereal and cereal bars as well as milk and juice) and they have a Keurig coffeemaker which we love. However, it would have been nice to have more than one cup each as they left only two kcups. Also, they should leave NO fruit instead of the rotted apple and orange we found. Really nice leather chairs to sit and watch TV and I would suggest a small table in between then so you have somewhere to set your drink. We would stay there again. It was our first time in Monroe and we liked it very much.

Room Tip: If you don't like to climb stairs, pick a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChellnDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After a recent stay at Hotel Sterling, I am convinced that this could honestly be one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in. Located downtown, it has a very hipster, historic vibe. We were in town for a wedding so all of our friends/other wedding guests occupied all of the rooms, making it so I was able to see inside almost all of them. Flat screen televisions, dark wood floors, leather arm chairs, and exposed brick walls made up the décor. Some rooms had cozy upper levels and all rooms had stocked refrigerators and huge bowls of fresh fruit, cereal, and granola bars ( all included in room charge!) The cleanliness is unbelievable and for the price, it is almost absurd that you are getting something so nice for so little. In any larger city, you would spend at least $300 a night. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I and my family travel from Florida every 6-8 weeks to see an amazing Chiropratic physician in Monroe. He made us aware of Hotel Sterling and we have stayed on several occasions. The previous glowing posts are all true. Ken and his staff run one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. Quiet, clean, lovely rooms and great amenities as described. My wife and I joke that we may take our next vacation to Monroe for the peace and relaxation we always feel after an incrediblly restful weekend up there. We always look forward to our trips. Cannot recommend more highly!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was almost a perfect lodging experience. The concept is great. Minimal staff (we saw no staff over two days) allowed for an outstanding price. Our small suite was perfectly appointed.
There really was nothing that we needed that we didn't have. Monroe itself is an unexpected pleasure as well. About 45 minutes from Detroit, with easy access to Ford attractions in Dearborn, but with a quiet small town atmosphere and a lovely river walk. We actually wanted to cover Detroit and Cleveland in this road trip so Monroe proved the perfect spot. The Hotel Sterling is really lovely so please take a chance and stay there. They deserve to do very well in their business.
This is not a bed and breakfast. Trip advisor lists it as such, but it is not.
We hope to see more of this type of concept hotel.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieahill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monroe hotels
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Monroe
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 9 in Monroe
271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
2.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sterling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sterling

Property: Hotel Sterling
Address: 109 W Front St, Monroe, MI 48161-2338
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sterling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Monroe's finest accommodations. Suites feature hardwood flooring, leather furniture, marble bath and bar with refrigerator/sink/microwave. Contemporary, first class finishes. Hotel located in Downtown within walking distance to variety of lounges and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sterling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing