We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, clean, a bit dated, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is just off I-75, so easy to find. All staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean with a new flat-screen tv (although limited channels). Bed was very comfy and furniture looked fairly new. The only negative was that the bathroom, although very clean, could use an update - hints of mould around the tub and dingy taps and shower head, although water pressure was great. The heater worked very well (we needed it) and quickly warmed us up.
When we came back from dinner, there were little treats like small pieces of cake and "timbits" (doughnut holes in U.S-speak). This was a lovely touch since we didn't have dessert at the restaurant and, although my wife refrained, it just hit the spot for me. The morning breakfast was much better than the average hotel breakfast - lots of choices(both healthy and not) and we were both fully satisfied. The breakfast area is quite large and very comfortable.
Overall, it was a fine place to stay overnight on the way south.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APTorontoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed in a Jacuzzi suit room was clean and updated as expected. Pillow top bed was comfortable and seemed new. When the TV wouldn't work hotel management didn't hesitate to move us to an equivalent room and even offered an upgrade if we wanted. The pool and hot tube were great. Even though the hotel wasn't full the breakfast was much better than average. Hotel is within walking or short drive of many restaurants. Also had good in room free WiFi

Cons: In room jacuzzi was small, more for one person....None of the rooms have a great view of anything.

Note: Heck Park which is dedicated to Vietnam veterans is within walking distance less than a block away.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suits are first floor near the back entrances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maybeedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelli C, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Breakfast will be waiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here for a wedding weekend, rooms were clean, paid the internet rate which was reasonable. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Continental breakfast had a good selection. We had stayed here previously when it was a Holiday Inn Express, didn't notice many if any changes , other then the name on the sign. We had know issues , and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank safety6737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This motel is beginning to show it's age, but don't let that keep you away. The rooms were a little dated but large and very clean. We stayed there two nights last month and was pleased with the manager on duty. We checked out the first morning, but ended up coming back there to stay another night. The manager was very pleasant and helpful, and she gave us a room upgrade for staying a second night. The bathrooms were clean as were the linens. Even the carpet was clean and you don't always find clean carpets in older motel. The pool area was large and open and the exercise room was nice with all working equipment. The breakfast bar was well maintained by not one but two staff persons, and the food was good. We will be back in the area for Thanksgiving and you can bet we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyndchymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay here from from check in. We were able to check in very early and were even offered to have some breakfast since they hadn't closed it for the morning. This was very hospitable of them. The staff at the check in were very helpful and pleasant. On Tuesday nights they offer a guest appreciation dinner which was so nice. They had pizza, stuffed peppers, meatballs, burgers and the fixins, potato salad, pop plus more but I can't remember any more. What was also good was that the hot food was hot and the cold was cold ( salad was sitting on ice). There was fresh fruit in the lobby all day as well as available coffee and tea. The pool and hot tub were working and there were tables and towels available. We had a suite which was quite large . We would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: get a suite it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CubaqueenOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was a decent place to stop over while in Monroe.

The area isn't very attractive (maybe downtown Monroe is better) - it was more like a highway stop-over. Immediately nearby were gas stations, other hotels, a truck stop, and restaurants. Even though Cracker Barrel is directly across the street, maybe 200 yards away, there was no way I would have walked there. Definitely a highway type environment.

The hotel itself was comfortable. It's not a 5 start hotel, but was decent. And inexpensive. The beds were very comfy. We were on the first floor. There was a large party in the bar area that evening (I think lots of military), and even though they were fairly loud, I didn't hear them once our door was shut. I did, however, hear a door and toilet flush from neighbors.

The pool was nice, as was the hot tub. Excellent hours, too - it was open until midnight.

We asked for a handicapped room. The bathroom was indeed handicapped - the shower was walk-in and had a seat, and there were hand rails. But access to the room was definitely NOT handicapped. Being on the first floor meant we didn't have to deal with stairs or elevators once in the hotel, but there was no ramp up the three stairs to get into the entrance by the handicapped parking. And the entrance doors did not have the handicapped button to automatically open. If we had entered by the lobby we would've had a ramp and an auto door, but this wasn't at the entrance closest to the room, where the handicapped parking was.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The gentleman at the front desk brought extra blankets and towels to the room when I asked, and the lady at the breakfast bar was amazingly friendly and helpful in assisting my grandmother get breakfast.

The food at breakfast was okay. There were staples like fruit and yogurt and cereal and juice - all good. The sausage wasn't good. There was a waffle machine, which was very popular, with syrup and strawberry toppings.

If I'm in need of a quick hotel in the Monroe area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were in town for a convention with the family. The hotel was busy but the front desk staff and breakfast staff were always nice and ready to help. The pool area is big and clean. The complementary hot breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommyde2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monroe
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites MONROE
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monroe
Hampton Inn Monroe
#1 of 8 in Monroe
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Monroe
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites Monroe
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1225 N Dixie Hwy, Monroe, MI 48162-5228 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Monroe)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites® hotel is centrally located in Monroe, close to many local points of interest. This Michigan hotel is minutes from the River Raisin Battlefield and Monroe County Fairgrounds.Sterling State Park is just one mile from this Monroe, MI hotel, and it provides the perfect backdrop for an array of outdoor activities like fishing, boating, biking and hiking. Fermi II nuclear power plant, La-Z-Boy World Headquarters, Detroit Stoker Company and Gerdau Macsteel are just minutes away. A number of restaurants are within walking distance.As a guest of this Monroe, MI hotel, you can enjoy amenities and features including: Free continental breakfast, Free high-speed Internet access, Free USA Today, newspaper, Indoor heated pool and hot tub, Fitness center. Don't forget to join us for a free guest appreciation dinner every Tuesday from 5 to 7 p.m and the hotel's game room is open daily. Additional conveniences like an on-site business center, a computer with Internet access, and access to copy and fax service are available for corporate travelers. With six spacious banquet and meeting rooms, including executive boardrooms and a ballroom that can accommodate up to 150 people, this Michigan hotel provides the perfect backdrop for your next function.The Quality Inn & Suites hotel in Monroe, Michigan offers rooms that are furnished with an array of home-like features like coffee makers with free coffee, curved shower rods, hair dryers, spacious work desks, voice mail, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities including hot tubs, sofa sleepers, and kitchen facilities with microwaves and refrigerators. Refrigerator rentals are available at the front desk. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises and on-site parking is provided. The Quality Inn & Suites in Monroe has great features and affordable rates. The next time your travelers bring you to this area of Michigan, make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Monroe
Holiday Inn Monroe
Monroe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing